Girls and Boys

2006-08-12, 10:25 p.m.
Can a person actually be �bored to death�? I mean, is it actually possible to be just sat there, sighing and gazing outta the window and sulking a bit and sighing a bit more until one actually expires? I do really think that might happen to me this evening.

Ive tried, Ive REALLY tried to motivate myself to do something fabulously productive with my non-BF time but just�just�just can�t be arsed actually.

Today has been stupendous in its dullness. Firstly, I was expecting to find a gazillion comments about how hilarious the C0ke and Ment0s thing is, only to have Jooj tell me that it is practically ancient history and that �Like, EVryone knows THAT, mum� complete with eye rolling and pitying expressions and stuff. She wouldn�t even tear herself away from Lizzy Maguire to come see that little video clip I put up. That set me off sulking and I have resolved not to go to Asd@ tomorrow and get C0ke and Ment0s for the amusement of my ungrateful spawn. Meh. They can get stuffed. (but I WILL get some next weekend for the amusement of me and the BF as I KNOW he hasn�t seen it � I asked him!). We will have a lovely minty c0key time out in the garden, especially as Jooj told me someone on the telly made a C0KEYMINTYROCKET! How cool is THAT, Huh? HUH?

Took wee Treacle to a party this morning � she looked utterly gorgeous with a giant yellow flower in her mermaidy hair. Stopped to pick up her friend Bannanna on the way and had five minutes to play with Bannanna�s little sister who is just the most gorgeously gorgeous little popsie in the world. She has Downs Syndrome and she doesn�t talk or walk yet - Im not sure how old she is, I guess maybe 2 � but she sure lets you know she�s pleased to see you, its enough to break your heart. Bannannas mummy was in a flap as she couldn�t find the sellotape and had a hangover and wasn�t really prepared for receiving visitors or anything. Id like to be bigger friends with her as she seems really nice, but Im crap at that sort of thing and when you�re 39 and not 6, you cant just go up and say �will you be my friend� cos that would just be weird.

Whilst Treacle and Bannanna were at the party, me and Jooj went into town to get a birthday present for OtherJooj who is Joojs NBF at school. We got her a giant set of scented pens (girls just LOVE those, don�t they!) and then we went to Claire�s and argued most massively about the glittery stuff. The arguing was mostly one of us saying �Can I get that?� and the other one saying �No! For goodness sake, that�s not for someone YOUR age!� Sadly, it was me saying �Can I get that?� and Jooj mocking the afflicted. She did let me get a really smart dogtooth check baker boy hat which I will wear ALL the time once it stops being so hot here. I don�t do umbrellas, so I always have a couple of nice hats on the go to stop me getting too soaked. I also managed to get her to let me have THREE glittery bracelets, but only because I bought her one too and promised that she could share the others I got and maybe sometimes wear my hat. I lied about the hat. It�s going nowhere near her head. Ever. Even tho I did let her try it on and it did look nice. But that�s because it�s a really nice hat which would look nice on anyone, and not because she is quite cool or good-looking or anything.

When we got back home I tidied up quickly and made a pot of coffee and was all smiley when Bannannas mummy brought Treacle home, just in case she had time to come in and chat for a bit. But she didn�t. They were going to the cinema. We chatted through the car window for a bit and I was as nice as I could be and I hope she might want to be my friend one day soon because she�s really nice.

Tried to get Jooj and Treacle to play with me but they just wanted to fight chill in front of the TV so I mooched about in the kitchen trying to drink all the coffee Id made for Bannannas mummy (the ungrateful cow!). Then I went and had a snooze for a wee while.

When I got up, Jooj had changed into some kind of BabyGoth outfit, ready for OtherJoojs sleepover party. I thought she looked pretty much OK til we got to OtherJoojs house and OtherJooj was wearing a pink Tshirt and jeans with an elastic bit at the back, like a normal little girl. *sigh*

OtherJooj�s folks are really nice too � BF went to school with OtherJooj�s dad (this is a SMALL town) which is kinda weird. Even weirder is that we know this, not by BF and OtherJoojDad meeting up again after 30 years but by a bizarre set of questions and answers going backwards and forwards between the two household over a period of about two months and slow realisation dawning.

Anyway, not much else to report, Im afraid. Treacle passed up another episode of SuperDuperman in favour of a proper bedtime story. She got two bit hits of Bad Becky and a pared down version of Heidi which was a bit weepy in the middle but perked up considerably towards the end. For a smart kid she has appalling taste in literature. Bad Becky is a load of rubbish. I would rename it �Somewhat Misunderstood but Could Still Do With A Bloody Good Hiding Becky�, if it were MY book.

I have promised her a cuddle in my bed in the morning � even tho she made a face and said �you wont be NAKED, will you?�. I have assured her that I will arranged to not be, and she went and put a nightie so she wont be either. When you consider that generally speaking, neither of us is big on nightclothes of any description, that is a bit odd. Still, it will mean I can have an extra half hour in bed in the morning while she asks me a gazillion questions about life, the universe and why BF has �an earring in his�his�*pointing* THERE�. There�s just no answering that. Believe me, Ive tried.

just read that bit back and would like to point out that it was his NIPPLE she was referring to. M�kay!

Return of the prodigal boyfriend tomorrow night. Giant-sized roast dinners to be cooked, stuff to be spruced up (mostly me, I think), beds to be sprayed with Make Me Randy Even Tho I Spent Three Hours On The M6 bergamot linen spray and glittery bracelets/groovy hats to be hidden, lest they provoke snorts of �whaddya buy THAT for?� causing huffs to be gone into and sexual favours to be withheld in a Pyrrhic Victory sort of way.

I hope that you are impressed that I can write so much shite in one entry and still slip in something clever like �Pyrrhic Victory� when I think you�ve lost interest.

I drank all the whisky last night so have been sipping down Raki fizzy orange (yik!). I find it helps the huffy sulking along nicely.

BF phoned to say he�d had a good day, the store loved his demos, which had helped sell 5 astonishingly expensive guitars and the store owner had given him a set of maple wood bongos as a present, to add to our percussion collection. I don�t think we�ve got ANYTHING in our house that doesn�t make a noise when you hit it. Even the kids do.

Later
S
x




back - forth