Bad. Real Bad.

2005-10-21, 9:54 p.m.
2nd of the day.

Well, holy shite, could the day have been any WORSE?

Got a big demo on Sunday for Twat Inc but cant go as I ve got a dress/Tech rehearsal ready for Monday.

New slave and I had planned to clear the decks during the morning so we could concentrate our efforts on the final prep for Sunday. Got a call at 11.30ish asking if I would mind going upstairs as a colleague was feeling unwell - being one of the few sentient beings in the place Im often called on to 'do the mum thing' for people with minor afflictions (splinters/hangovers/getting dumped etc etc). Cantered uptairs to find said colleague hunched in her chair in a ball and, well....gibbering. She was ashen and shaking and in a jolly bad way. She said she 'felt funny' and as she's been under a lot of pressure lately I diagnosed an anxiety attack and accompanied her outside for a bit of fresh air and sympathy. Well, it went from bad to worse, she went numb, was tearing at her hair, couldnt speak, shaking uncontrollably and raking her nails over her skin. I diagnosed BIG TROUBLE and chucked her in my car, pausing only to shout "XXX is unwell, she's going to hospital" through the office door.

Got about half a mile down the road - by which time she was muttering, weeping and generally looking like she wouldnt last the distance. I screeched into the carpark of our other office and dashed in to call an ambulance. Mercifully the General Manager was there so I quickly explained and we came to the conclusion that waiting for an ambulance might be a BAD idea so I raced back to the car and hurtled to BigTown Hospital.

I would point out at this juncture that XXX has mental health "issues", an eating disorder and, at 31, is smaller than my 9 year old.

We got to the hospital and I helped her inside - I will confess that all the way there I was thinking if she passes out in the car at least I'll be able to carry her (she's less than six stone). She gave a fairly good account of her symptoms to the triage nurse but while we were waiting for the doctor she started weeping again and rocking and generally scaring me, actually.

I kind of got the feeling there might be more to this so took her to a quiet corner for a little chat. She said "I hit my head" and started crying again.

Yep, she did hit her head. That's generally what happens when a 15 stone man throws a tiny tiny girl against a wall during a row in a hotel room.

She'd been having a "thing" with one of our clients - the one being the big-shot demonstrator at our thing on Sunday. I'd already bailed her out when he tried to strangle her a couple of months ago and she told me they'd broke up. I'd done what I could for her health and well-being then, including dealing with the top brass at Twat Inc who were of the opinion that it would be less problem to 'lose' XXX than to lose a top demonstrator.

It appears things flared up again and this time he told her that if she siad anything he wouldnt come to the demo and she'd get the sack. He is scum. This was last weekend and she's been carrying round a cracked open head and enormous dollop of fear ALL WEEK. No fucking wonder she cracked up.

I spent four hours in the emergency room with her. She was very brave and told the doctor what had happened - they sent her for Xrays, luckily no skull fracture just concussion. I spoke to the doctor and got some contacts for the domestic violence helpline and will work out a plan of action over the weekend.

I have given her express instructions what to do about him and will help her to implement them so that this NEVER happens again. I can guarantee he will know exactly what is and isnt acceptable dating behaviour by ths time next week. Aside from my superior strength and lack of fear, and despite my bitching about how I get no respect at work, I am prepared to face up to him and the top brass to get this stopped.

By the time I got back to the office, most people had left for the weekend. Slave had done ALL the prep for the demo which seeing as she's been in the job for 20 days is fucking FANTASTIC and even Capt Skiver had been answering the telephone. They get cakes on Monday. Big Ones.

I will have to give an account to the General Manager on Monday but Im prepared for that. XXX has sworn me to secrecy....but only until AFTER the demo.

I am Stepfie, hear me roar.



back - forth