Spitting Feathers Right Now.

2015-12-02, 9:05 p.m.
Wasn’t going to update today as Im mad as hell with L and all I seem to do these days is moan about him. But, meh, fuckit.

He’s saying he’s disillusiuoned with the life of the jobbing musician and wants to leave the profession and do something else. OK, I get that. It’s a hard job and the last few years have not been kind to him, now that everyone with a fucking Garageband app thinks he’s a music producer and everyone with Guitar Hero thinks he can…umm… play the guitar but, anyway, ever was it thus.

He’s been talking about getting some kind of temporary job just over the Christmas period as he has very little music work on at the moment and my job doesn’t exactly leave us with a lot spare. Anyway, we heard about a job down near the airport which would have been maybe two months of solid work. It sounded pretty easy (if boring) work and I was starting to think maybe doing something ANYTHING would give him back a bit of pride in a ‘job well done’ kind of way.

Today he tells me that he’s not going to go for it because it doesn’t pay enough money so I asked him what he would be prepared to work for. He gives me a figure – I ask if that’s his ABSOLUTE minimum and he drops it by £3 an hour. I ask what he would think of a job paying less than that, maybe if he had to drop another £3/hour. He tells me no job that pays that is worth doing and his time is worth more than that. There’s ‘no fucking way’ he would work for the figure I suggested because ‘once you’d paid tax on it it wouldn’t be worth stepping out the door’. Jobs that pay that much are ‘shitty jobs’ for ‘idiots’. The amount I suggested as his minimum is £1 MORE an hour than I currently earn. The money I earn pays our mortgage and all our bills. It puts food on our table and petrol in our car. It will be buying Christmas presents and birthday presents and everything else that money gets spent on in this house (except for his beer).

The money I earn is so important to our wellbeing that I continued to work while I was having my second round of cancer treatment instead of taking the deferred start I was offered as, without my money, we would have lost the house.

Turns out I am an ‘idiot’ and do a ‘shitty’ job. Who knew?

Thanks for that L, you selfish, self-important cunt.

Rant over.
Sorry ‘bout that

Later
S
X

PS L doesn’t know what I earn




back - forth