sometimes other things happen, too!

2015-03-21, 11:28 p.m.
So here’s the next bit, then, and maybe we can talk about something else for a bit, huh?

What’s become apparent in the last ten days or so, is that L’s memory was only about an hour long, then it was about a day long and then it was about three days long. That means that big chunks of cuntish behaviour have disappeared from his memory bank as each day has passed. He hasn’t been utterly acunty, obviously, but Ive started to notice that mentioning episodes of prior cuntishness have resulted in genuine surprise, exclamations of ‘Omigod, did I?????’ and sheepish apologies.

No, L is not quite himself yet, but bits of him are coming back to me, slowly. He seems, to the untrained eye, to be utterly recovered…but he’s not. At the moment, he’s a kind of very convincing replicant – its nothing you can really put your finger on, but he’s not /quite/ right. I hope that will change.

The big news is, he’s out of hospital now – came home yesterday after having his S-ICD fitted on Thursday. Since he’s been home he’s pretty much only been actively involved in two activities; sleeping and eating. The latter isn’t so much of a problem as he lost a lot of weight in hospital (Im guessing about 15-20lbs) but the sleeping is a bit of an issue.

Just before his heart attack, the waterbed had sprung a tiny leak – it wasn’t really a problem as the water only came out if we moved about enthusiastically in the bed and, lets face it, his ‘permanently half-cut and really quite ill’ state and my…err…distaste for his lifestyle choices (yeah, lets call it that) had meant that no enthusiastic movements had been carried out in that bed for a wee while.

Anyway, the leak got worse and dad and I tried to mend it (and made it even worse) so I took the decision early on – I think while L was still unconscious. I needed something else to concentrate my mind – to buy a new mattress. It’s a non-standard size bed because L’s so tall and I had to special order it, which meant a 5 week delivery. Now, because my husband was in a coma and I cried in the bed showroom, I managed to get that down to 3 and a half weeks but that still leaves about half a week between L coming home and the new mattress arriving. Problem with that is, Ive got rid of the old leaky mattress – dad and I did a fucking STERLING job siphoning the water out, using a mixture of physics and (when the physics didn’t work) some fairly serious suction power. As eny fule kno, I could suck the stitches out of a cricket ball so getting rancid water along about 40ft of hosepipe wasn’t really too much of a trauma. The taste of waterbed water that’s been in a waterbed for nine years, on the other hand, IS something of a trauma. *shudder*

Last Friday when I went out with L’s friends (and got drunk enough to nearly forget that I was frightened for my future, and drunk enough to be fine with L’s friends staring at my boobs, and drunk enough to have to be walked home in case I fell in the bushes or forgot where I lived) I managed to persuade them to come around and lug the water mattress downstairs and into my car.

So, Ive been sleeping on the little bed in the spare room but last night I had to give that up for L.

I slept on the sofa. 5 bedroom house, that I pay for, decorate, clean, run and pretty much sweat blood over…but there wasn’t a bed for me in it last night. Fucking typical.

The new mattress should arrive on Wednesday or Thursday next week.

Here’s a secret – shhhhhhh – Im a bit scared to sleep with L again. Its been a long time. I feel like there’s an element of ‘starting over’. Am I being silly?

In other news, Jooj has been getting out and about a bit. She’s a big ole geek and she loves her comicons and sci-fi cons and all that shizzle and she TOTALLY loves a bit of cosplay. Sometimes she does a very nice line in Bellatrix Lestrange, sometimes she does a bit of Ygritte and sometimes something else. Anyways, sometimes people see her doing that stuff (particularly the Ygritte stuff) and they invite her to do more of it and they give her free stuff so she’ll do that stuff in the way they want her to and sometimes that means she gets to be in pictures like this:

 photo got2_zps3qvxriu9.jpg

And pictures like this

 photo got1_zps7gqagvit.jpg

And a whole bunch of newspapers including this one

 photo got3_zpskaebgm86.jpg

Cool, huh?

Later
S
x




back - forth