running on empty

2015-03-02, 11:43 p.m.
The effort of remaining a functioning human being is a fucking nightmare, D’land.

Because H@mpshire County Council only give 2 days compassionate leave, I should technically be at work this week. Two days wouldn’t even have gotten me to the bit where L woke up from his coma. Luckily, there is some compassion in the world (or at least in Amazingstoke) and I have been off work all week and am signed off for another two weeks at least. I would kind of dispute the idea that Im ‘sick’ but, seeing as Im milliseconds from tears on a permanent basis and today I have:

Stolen some reduced price Kiwi fruit from Tesco by mistake (I went back and paid for them)
Left my bank card in the payment machine in another shop (a man chased me and gave it back)
Been unable to work out what time I need to leave the house tomorrow in order to get Treacle to school and Jooj to the station
Specially made a little dessert for L and then left it in the middle of the table at home when I went to visit him in the hospital

You’d really need to ask yourself if Im the sort of person you’d want to be teaching your kids English Literature and Maths right now.

It’s very hard being me at the moment and what I really want to do is curl up in my husband’s arms and be gently kissed better.

What Ive got instead is curling up on my own in the single bed in the spare room, where I have put my pillow inside one of L’s dirty tshirts out of the laundry basket, and crying myself to sleep.

There’s some factual stuff that I can tell you about (if you haven’t seen it already on FB) but I cant write it right now – I have to do the school run in the morning and its already quarter to midnight.

Later
S
x




back - forth