green pen!

2014-05-28, 9:56 p.m.
Lemme give y'all a whole new definition of self-loathing, dear d'land. In order for me to publicise the duo that L and I have (gigs = Corfu spending money) I needed to make a Facespook page. L cant make it because its a bit bad form, seeing as he's already in a couple of other acts ('yeh, Im in your band, but here I am - scrounging up gigs for one thats nothing to do with you'). I cant make a facespook page without having a facespook profile and so, having resisted the same since the dawn of time, I have now joined facespook. I fucking hate it already. I hate its stupid 'suggestions'. I hate the fact that a pervy guy who I knew 30+ years ago tried to add me after me BEING ON FACEBOOK FOR SIX MINUTES! I hate the way my actual real 'friends' have been all "hahaha, we knew you'd cave eventually". Gah. I fucking hate it.

I need to add some song files to the band page I made, otherwise its all a bit futile, and is basically an exercise in making me pissed off.

Its holidays this week and so far my main activity has been avoiding grading all the papers I brought home with me because my marking pen is the wrong shade of green. I am fully aware of how pathetic that sounds but I really really hate marking papers and I really really hate writing in green biro (which is the 'industry standard' these days, what with red pen being overly confrontational or some such bollocks). My handwriting doesnt lend itself particularly well to biro. I need a fibre tipped pen really and they dont really come in green, unless its at great expense. In this context 'great expense' means more than �1, which is the maximum I want to spend on a pen which I am bound to lose within the first ten minutes of class on Monday.

Meh.

Anyway, the new job? Good things are: Its not all English, which is a boring subject to teach (interesting to know about but boring to teach). Its a mix of English, Maths (boring to know about but fun to teach) and Pastoral Support (Yay! Naughty boys! My favourite!). Oh, and theyre paying my travel for another year - BOOOOM!!!

Oh, and a fuck-off big payrise, which I managed to score by virtue of 'growing a pair' and turning down the job I was actually first offered (teaching English for another year, on the same salary as I currently get). Yay me! Oh, and Yay the Headteacher at Chigley Academy who told me (in actual words) - 'He (the head of Grapetree) will be right up shit creek if you leave. Ask for �XXX and you'll get it....Only dont tell him I told you that or he'll know Ive fucked him over'.

Bad things: a) its in that same shitty 30-miles-away town which has very few redeeming features other than an overly large Primark and very little chance of bumping into pupils while Im drunk in the pub of a Friday night. b) the 06:59 train, which is the bane of my fucking LIFE.

Ooh, OOh! I forgot to say - My friend J is fixing my Mazda at WAY less ��� than I thought it would cost (J'oP - the cat was only �147!!), and the insurance is way less than I thought (�16/month, instead of the �35 I'd budgeted) and all this leads to OMIGOD I CAN DRIVE MY MAZDA TO WORK INSTEAD OF GETTING THE TRAIN, which is infinitely better than the Oh Six Fifty Fucking Nine (which also involves a mile walk from my house to the station. And back). Happy Happy Happy!

In other news, L will play this tune at your wedding/party/event, but he has decided that you will have to pay for the privilege. After some negotiation, his fee for this ONE TUNE is �400.

Yep, he hates that tune. With some passion. I kind of think it sucks , too, but then, he will play 'Girl from Ipanema' for nothing so I think he might just be being a bit picky.

later
s
x

PS Wanna grade some papers? You can use your own green pen. PS L just upped his fee for Cavatina, after realising �400 was a bit light. Its now �1600. Plus expenses.



back - forth