Dust Fairies. Thats about all I can manage.

2013-02-24, 11:45 p.m.
I had so many things to tell you about but they�ve just kind of melted away out of my brain. Then they�ve just kind of swirled around out in the front garden and re-entered the house, where they�ve mixed with those little bits of dust that you can always see dancing about in shafts of light (if you have a dirty house, that is. If your house is sparkly clean then you probably don�t have illuminated shafts of dust. Its your loss, because you will never have had the joyous feeling of thinking that just maybe they might be fairies, and not dust. I seriously thought that when I was a little girl. Sometimes I almost think it now, too). See what�s happened now? The swirly detritus of interesting �things to tell you� has mutated into a long and tedious rumination about dust and fairies. I was even going to carry on that analogy and talk about my ideas, mixed with the dust, settling on the sofa and the coffee table and the bookcase, and being wiped away with a damp cloth by Krystyna the Cleaner before I had a chance to formulate them into paragraphs but Ive lost my �lyrical prose� mojo as well and seem to have drifted SERIOUSLY off-topic. *shakes head*

My head is empty. I just had a look up my nose to see if I could see anything actually IN my head but it was pretty dark up there so I guess there�s pretty much nothing. Especially nothing shiny, sparkly or luminous. Which is a shame as these be the stuff of fun diary entries, Gs and Bs. *sigh*.

Its been half term this week so Ive been on holiday. Not in a �stretched out on the beach, in a sunhat, with a chunky but ultimately unchallenging novel� kind of way, just in a �not been at work� kind of way.

As part of my continuing campaign to try not to kill my husband, no matter how much he provokes me to it, I went off to Bruges with Sissy and BiL on Friday. Sissy said �L could�ve come too, you know.�
�No he couldn�t� I said.
�Aww�.Is he working?�
�No. He couldn�t come because I didn�t invite him.�
�Ah����Want another lemon genever?�
�Yup�.

The Saturday was the usual Brokantewinkelfest (that�s �lots of junk shop shopping� to any non-Dutch speakers��including me. I only know how to say Brokantewinkel. And order food. �Kip� is chicken, which could be confusing if you needed a little nap and said �Anyone mind if I just take a kip?�) but I didn�t really get anything particularly interesting. To be honest, it was quite nice to just be trailing around after Sissy and BiL and not have to use my brain at all, except for wondering whether Vol au Vent and Chips was an acceptable luncheon choice (it was) and whether I was going to completely wreck my diet in the three days I would be away (I did) and whether �150 was enough spending money (it wasn�t. But huzzah for creditcards!). And so to bed, in the funny chilly damp little attic room with its single bed and the bedside table made out of a crate.

Next morning was one of those strange days where it looks like youre viewing the world through a sheet of tracing paper. Not foggy, just kind of out of focus and monochromatic. We drove across the border into Holland and went to Sluis, where we ate poffertjes and I moaned about L for a bit until I didn�t feel quite so spiteful. Ive written about Sluis before so I wont do it again but one thing Id missed when I went there before was that it appears to be the onion growing capital of The Polderland so we were able to score 8kg/18lb bags of supergood quality onions for �2/$1.30/86p!!(I wrote Ponderland there, by mistake. Now Ive got an indelible image of Russell Brand in my mind, dressed up like Marcel Marceau. But with a more visible cock. And a string of onions around his neck).

I just spent a good ten minutes wondering what a weather symbol showing a cloud with what appeared to be a spoon stuck in the top of it might mean, before realising it was not a spoon at all, it was a bit of crud stuck to my laptop screen. Apparently its going to be cloudy tomorrow. With no spoons.

I could do with finishing this off properly, and telling you about the rest of my Bruges trip, as it comes neatly before my Cambridge trip and my London trip but I just don�t have the���.the����oh, what�s it called when you cant, sort of, feel like���������

*eats a biscuit*

later
s
x

PS I made banana cream pie today. It was beyond delicious, especially as I made it with one of those pie crusts that�s a bit like shortbread. The one you made in the food processor and don�t have to roll out. God, its fabulous. Diet? Schmiet!





back - forth