feeling strangely OK

2012-02-16, 9:51 p.m.
Mornin� All!

Had chemo today so I should be feeling like a big shiny pile o� shite but I actually feel pretty much OK thanks feraskin! Somehow Ive developed a massively hot head like a giant boiled plum but they did say that, with this new heady cocktail of drugs (Docetaxel, if youre playing along at home) I might �get some skin flushes�, so I guess boiled plum head is the way things are gonna go for a bit. Ive also doubled my dose of steroids (they told me to, I didn�t just think it might be fun) so Im also kinda apprehensive that when the Steriod Crazies kick in theyre gonna be NO FUN AT ALL.

So far, the only hideous bit was tripping over a giant metal wheelie bin of sharps and other chemo detritus which was by the side of my chemo chair. At first I just caught the end of the toe of my shoe in the wheelie mechanism but as my shoes of choice today were stupid pink patent kitten heels with ridiculous extended pointy witch toes, every effort to unhitch myself resulted in further entanglement and a great deal of hopping around the chemo place dragging a clanking wheelie tub of assorted cannulas, drip bags and horrid drug remains with me in my wake. Oh, and there was some swearing. And the sound of my mum laughing.

Now I have a massive green bruise on my ankle and I suspect everyone in the chemo place think I am a bit of a twat.

To assuage my twattishness, or possibly to add to it, I got Jooj to put some temporary tattoos on my stupid big head. Look!

Photobucket

Wanna see �em close up?

Photobucket

I think they�re kinda cool. Ive got some parties and other stuff coming up � stuff where I don�t really want to be wearing a wig or a turban or some other kind of head gear that might fall off if I get drunk, so I thought possibly I might get some really nice �head adornment� stylee tattooes, some flowers or some birdies or some kind of pretty stuff. Waddya think?

In other news, there was Valentines Day, and I got some pretty nice flowers.

Photobucket

I got L some presents too. He got a very nice trashy red satin bra and knickers set (luckily theyre in my size!) and some massagey stuff and a massive bottle of something which, the whole time I was in the queue in Superduperdrug I was thinking �please don�t let a pupil see me, please don�t let a pupil see me, please don�t let a pupil see me�. I am pretty sure there are no more embarrassing situations than �hello, Miss! Fancy seeing you here! What are you buyi��OH!�

I made salmon en croute for dinner and we had a few drinks in the club and it was all kinda nice.

On Saturday, L went out with Camera Club (shhhh! It�s a secret club. Im sure I wasn�t supposed to tell you about it. Its not a proper camera club, that you can join or anything � its just some guys and it seems like its invitation only, even to the extent that one of the guys brothers wanted to come and there was some SERIOUS debate on whether he should be allowed, in case he spoiled the dynamic of the group. WTF? First rule of camera club. Don�t talk about camera club.). Anyways, L went out and his friend N took this picture of the frozen quarry

Photobucket

Remember the quarry? Im sure I posted pictures of it back in the summer but I cant find them now so I hope you remember it. Anyway, it looked so nice in N�s pictures in the snow and everything and with the water all frozen, that I wanted to go there too.

Unfortunately, on Sunday it had rained a bit overnight so the snow was gone, and it was overcast so there was no shiny blue sky making the frozen water look all lovely. Boo.

We went anyway and it wasn�t til we�d tramped through stupid amounts of mud which made our hikey boots into giant snowshoe shaped mud flippers, and L (who was �leading� had let 734 whippy bramble branches flick back into my face �by mistake� that he confessed he �wasn�t brilliant� at finding the path to the quarry. When I suggested we could have just driven to the entrance, instead of hiking in through the back woods like a suburban bloody Dual Survival episode, he made a sheepish face and I stomped to the front of our little procession, found the path in two seconds flat and made him look like a giant great pillock.

I did get some photos, with my little point-and-click camera � lets face it, I had plenty of time as L had brought his bagpipes unwieldy tripod with him and spent an inordinate amount of time in the bushes, setting up complex arty shots and being impressed with his immense fabulousness. And on the way back, we met a celebrity!

All in all a pretty good day.

Later
S
x




back - forth