Hair Today (Gone Tomorrow?)

2011-12-01, 7:48 p.m.
Why is everything so jolly complicated at the moment?

Decided I really ought to go and get my hair cut at the weekend. I�d been growing it over the summer and it had just got to that infuriating woolly stage where I looked like a mad professor if I just left it to its own devices, or like some bastard child of Frankie Valli and the late Bea Arthur if I tried to bully it into submission.

Then comes the spectre of chemotherapy (Lordy! That�s hard to type � I keep typing chomet�.and then having to go back and deal with it) and the very real possibility of it all falling out anyway, so I thought best get it all chopped off now and then maybe, once the treatment is all finished, growing it �from scratch� and hoping it grows back less bonkers. That isn�t as silly as it sounds as my friend Martin, who�s just recovering from chemo, had all his chest hair fall out and grow back brown, where it had been resolutely grey before! Maybe chemo turns back time? If my hair grows back as a permed-back, blonde-streaked mullet, you�ll know I was right!

Also, because Im very vain, Ive been researching what one is allowed (in terms of wigs) if one is poor and on the NHS. It appears someone comes and does a consultation with you, which is all fine and dandy, but if they see my hair in this interim grown-out, puff-headed loon style, they might think I WANT to look like that and will give me a wig exactly the same! Im hoping for a lady Gaga at the very LEAST, tbh, so I need my hair to look cool NOW if ya don�t mind. Oooh! I just thought. Maybe they will let me have one of those ones that they used to wear on Space 1999! I could totally rock that look.

See!
Photobucket

Anyway, once I�d decided to get my hair cut, I talked to L and he said it was a good idea, although he could see that I was disappointed as I�d been growing it for a while. We went to the pub and had a few scoops, which obviously affected his brain as, when we were leaving he shoved me into a group of men (ones I know, not a bunch of strangers) and said, all excited �Go on! Tell her what you just told me!� Then five different men told me how nice I looked�.and how much the liked my hair! As I was walking up the road to my house, just about managing to not cry, L was explaining how he thought it would be a good boost for me to hear how many people thought I looked nice. He just couldn�t see how all those �your hair is lovely like that� comments were hurting me. The twat. Once he twigged, he was horrified. He just hadn�t thought it through, I guess.

I went and got it cut on Saturday, after quite a lot of farting about in the bathroom trying to take a half-decent picture of myself for posterity (before AND after! Im so glad I don�t do F@ceb00k, all that �stretched out arm� photography that seems to be necessary for profile pictures is just EXHAUSTING!). I think it looks OK, and some other people have said so too.

Before

Photobucket

After (with added bonus of a nice view of all the crap I keep in my bathroom cupboard)

Photobucket

Saturday night I flatly refused to go out, as the band in the workies was BEYOND shite, so I cooked a nice dinner and settled down to watch Hall Pass. Didn�t quite work out as well as Id hoped as L couldn�t get the dvd player to work and by the time he did, Id eaten my dinner and then had to sit and watch him eat his. Oh, and the film wasn�t as funny as I�d been told it would be, even though Ive stolen the �wide mouth vagina� joke for my own use at some unknown future time requiring a crude foo joke (with actions). Oh, and then we both fell asleep on the sofa and I had to really yell at L to get him to wake up so we could go to bed. Yay! Rock and Roll Lifestyle!

NOT.

We did go shopping for bras on Sunday but the stupid internet wont let me post a picture of the one that I bought (it was a store photo, not a photo of me actually IN the bra, nobody needs to see that). Its quite nice, I guess, in a plain kind of way, and its comfortable enough too wear until I know what�s going to be happening with surgery etc etc.

I also got some bits and pieces of Christmas shopping but I was tired out after an hour or so and we just came back home.

My car seems to have shuffled off this mortal coil, which is a bit of a shame as a) I really needed it for my hospital appointment tomorrow and b) I was hoping to trade it in for something else but Im not sure they�ll take it off my hands if I cant actually�umm�drive it to the showroom! Ah well. Dad is taking me to the hospital and Im sure Stepfordbro (who is a big cheese for a car manufacturer) can cut me some kind of deal re the car. Im sure it will all come good in the end.

That�s enough for today. Back tomorrow when I will have been to the oncologist. I know how to have fun, me!

Thursday

Ive now been to the oncologist AND been for an MRI scan but they can have an entry all to themselves as I think I can probably wring a bit of humour out of the MRI at least and, lets face it, there�s been little enough mirth in this �ere diary for a wee while.

I�ll start writing it up now, before I forget all the funny bits and maybe bung it up here tomorrow.

Later
S
x




back - forth