Teeny update (but not much in the way of news)

2011-11-17, 9:40 p.m.
So. Don�t ACK-chewly have my results yet�but I do have a letter telling me I can go to the hospital on Monday and get �em then. So. Few more days of waiting then. Oh, hoorah, cos the last seven days have been, like, SO much fun.

L has been SUCH fun, too. The first few days he was weepy and couldn�t speak at all, then he went into a decline and drank himself into a mumbling stupor, resulting eventually in me having a GIGANTIC meltdown on Sunday when lots of things got said, mostly through veils of snot and at rather higher volume than might be strictly necessary when you consider we were sat not two feet apart.

Monday he pretty much hid from me. Then there must have been some kind of epiphany while I was at work because since then he�s been brilliant. Properly supportive and really quite useful.

I guess people just process information in different ways but I REALLY bloody well hope there�s no �stuff� to deal with on Monday cos if this is what he�s like when he�s just thinking there MIGHT be something wrong with me, then I may have to knife him (just to give him something else to think about, obviously!).

In other, non breast-related news, plans have commenced for Jooj�s 16th birthday next week. She�s made some very odd and specific requests vis a vis her party etc. We have watched show after show of �My Super Sweet 16� (both UK and US versions) as it neatly fills up that space between �putting the dinner in the oven� and �eating dinner� (always supposing we�ve seen whatever Futurama repeat is on the other side). I had fully prepared myself for an astonishing list of unreasonable demands, possibly (but not limited to) including some kind of private hire of a nightclub (no mean feat as there isn�t one in Chigley), pink Shetland ponies (also a bit thin on the ground around here) and an inappropriately sexy outfit which would cost more than my wedding dress (also might need a trip to a bigger and more impressive town).

Needless to say, she�s completely non-plussed me by requesting that she have 8 (yes, EIGHT, not 30, not 400) friends over to our house, for a bite to eat (pizza, shredded chicken, homemade cake) and a sleepover (mattresses on the floor of the sitting room and a pile of ancient and slightly threadbare sleeping bags). An occasional beer and a Cookies and Cream sidekick and everybody�s happy. Especially if there are croissants for breakfast next morning.

Actually, croissants for breakfast would solve a lot of the world�s ills, wouldn�t it?

s
x

PS Your lovely messages have taken me completely by surprise and have been both uplifting and comforting, especially during L�s most excessive �can�t deal� moments. Thank you all so very much, you are wonderful friends. xxxxx




back - forth