First you take a hotdog....

2011-06-19, 8:01 p.m.
Where, oh WHERE, have I been?

No entries? No pithy bon mots left on the diaries of You, my lovely readers? What could possibly have kept me from you for over a week?

Truth is, it�s a veritable smorgasbord of excuses � starting with a cold which has laid me low for the last few days but which is now slowly abating, leaving only a shiny red nose and the sort of Docker�s Oyster producing cough rarely seen since people stopped thinking asbestos was a wonder product. Add that to Virgin Media�s seeming inability to run a reliable internet service for more than about three and a half minutes before crashing more spectacularly than Richard Branson�s balloon (insert your own pun here. Possibly, but not limited to, the use of the words �Virgin� and �Fucked�). AND a most heinous week at work which saw me teaching for four days solid without a single free period � more on that later � and you have a week which has rendered itself pretty much incapable of much at all aside sniffing, tutting and sighing. Certainly not a conducive atmos for spewing forth amusing anecdotes for YOUR delectation, that�s fersure.

So, myriad excuses aside, what�s been occurring, Nessa?

Last weekend being Pater�s birthday, we offed down to Sis�s for a Gathering of the Clans type luncheon. I use the word �luncheon� in its loosest possible sense as we sat down to eat at 2 o�clock and finally hauled our bloated carcasses from the table at ten to eight

I�d asked Sis what I could take and she�d suggested �maybe some chocolates, to have with our coffee�, which meant I could spent a good half day in the kitchen, mucking about with melted choccy and nuts and caramel and rose cream and all sorts of gorgeous goodies as I just LURVE making sweeties! Also it was a great chance to try out my new silicon chocolate moulds. You wanna see what I made? Well, I only photographed a few of em, but you can get the general idea�

They were, variously: Caramel creams, Nutty Pennies (both in the slideshow), Rose Creams, Rum and Raisin Fudge in Dark Chocolate, White Chocolate Ginger and Whisky Truffles and Christmas Pudding Truffles (with real Christmas Pudding in �em!)

If you weren�t with me when I made the truffles before, you can see the bit of Youtubery HERE

Bouyed up by the success of my choccy exploits, I also made Jooj and Treac some long-awaited CHEESY BLASTERS

We don�t even watch 30 Rock but we saw Duff making the season finale cake on Ace of Cakes and when he also made Cheesy Blasters we just had to try them. If you don�t watch 30 Rock (or Ace of Cakes for that matter!), I�d urge you to click on the linky and check it out before you watch the next slideshow or it will make even less sense and will just make you think we are fat pigs�which we are!

Duff covered his with Nacho Cheese but we decided to skip that bit. Mostly because �bought in�Nacho Cheese is the liquefied bastard child of Wotsits and Birds Custard Powder, in all its gloopy, sunshine yellow, unnatural, redolent�of-feet disgustingness and I wasn�t sure how to make it from scratch.

With the benefit of hindsight, I should have made six rather than four as the pizza dough was pretty substantial. Next time I shall roll it thinner. Jooj has also requested the addition of jalapenos to give it a bit of a kick up the arse.

Now Im off to watch a film with my kids and horse around a bit. There may also be some popcorn eating.

Later
S
x

PS Forgot to tell you about work but will do that another time � film just starting!




back - forth