A few drops of whine.

2011-04-19, 10:42 a.m.
Yes, yes, yes, I know Im a slacker. Im such a slacker that I cant even think up a good reason for being a slacker this time.

Ive also got SO much to moan about that I forgive you in advance for skim reading this lot and moving on to some diarist more worthy of your guffaws.

There merest morsel of good news first � if we get it out of the way now it�ll make more room for whining, bitching and generally making people throw up their hands and go �Oh, for fucks sake, get over yourself, you whiner!��.Im on holiday! Yay! Two weeks off for the Easter Hols and it even looks like the weather might stay nice. HOORAH!

So. What�s been occurring then?

Treacle went to a �Red Carpet� party, which meant a lot of hunting about in the loft for an evening dress for her to wear. We found one which only needed a teeny bit of tinkering, created a big ole pageant up-do on her head and she was good to go:

Photobucket

Photobucket

slightly depressing is the teensy fact that I made (and wore) that dress when I was about 25. Treacle is 11.

We may have overspecced slightly as the other little girls had regular little girl party dresses on and nobody else had an up-do, �speshly not a fancy one. Whatever. Red carpet is red carpet, isn�t it?

Friday night the kids were at their dads so we went out for a few scoops, even though we hadn�t had any dinner. Come 11ish we were ready for some big scale munchies and stopped off at the kebab van on the way home. It�s a new one and had come highly recommended (Ruby � its worth the walk up if you happen to be in the vicinity of the roundabout near my house!), and it all looked pretty good. Unfortunately, as we were walking back home along the main road, all full of kebab anticipation, a car drove by and from the open window someone threw an egg at me! I didn�t know it was an egg at first, just felt a hard thump in my chest, but a quick inspection showed not a bullet hole and growing sunburst of blood, but a characteristic snotty blend of yellow and fragments of shell.

By the time I realised what had happened, the car had gone. Everyone I have told about this has laughed their head off. I had to wash my coat but otherwise no damage was done. My chicken kebab (onions, coleslaw, lettuce and garlic mayo) and L�s doner (extra chillies, double chilli sauce, NO GREENERY) were absolutely delicious.

But honestly, who eggs a middle aged lady with a carrier bag of fast food?

Well. Its now Tuesday. I still have a whole load of whining and moaning to do but I really need to get SOMETHING posted so you wont all desert me in your droves and start reading about some angsty Diaryland teenager instead.

Quick list, then, of the things Im probably going to whine about next time:

My car is dead. It will cost several hundred pounds (which I don�t have) to fix it and then I will have to sell it to be able to pay the bills for fixing it.

The dishwasher is dead (and full of water/caustic soda mixture) and we have about 40 people turning up at our house on Easter Saturday for a party.

My exboyfriend (the landscape gardener one) is coming over today to fix up the garden. L is still slightly pissy about this even tho A and I split up over TWENTY fricken years ago. Lemme hear you say �Get over yourself already, L, you pillock!�

Had some tickets for filming of Russell Howards Good News but cant afford the train fare (or the petrol) to get to London. Meh.

Will try to finish this tonight, speshly as I have a whole bunch of photos (and a proper actual little bit of film!) of an eagle landing on L�s arm at a falconry place! Its beyond cool!

Off to the seaside now, with the kids. Actually, that makes it sound very glamorous but we�re just off to Sis�s house for the afternoon. But there IS seaside there, and we WILL be visiting it.

Later
S
x




back - forth