The internet, teenage vigilantes and workstuff

2010-03-20, 5:35 p.m.
Written over a period of some days�hence a bit disjointed. You�ll live.

The internet is being a tool and won�t let me look at diaries�actually, it might be diaryland as everything else seems OK. I�m loath to blame diaryland as everyone seems to be getting on its case lately � bigging up other journal sites and generally making it feel like the poor relation but, Hey, I�m English, we LIKE things a bit wobbly and crap. Diaryland could easily be an English site � we are a nation of people who will happily stand on the back of the sofa and lean out of a window whilst clutching a wire coat hanger rather than take our TV back to the shop and say �I don�t get a very good reception on this, I think the aerial isn�t working�.


Diaryland hates annanotbob and joistmonkey. For the last few days, whenever I�d logged on, it would tell me that these two lovely people had updated but, no matter how hard I banged on the keys and said �fucking stupid internet piece of crap�, it would only let me read one entry, and it was an old one, from 13th March. If I tried to do anything else, it would just give me that 404 nonsense and then pretend it hadn�t seen me, sometimes kind of whistling tunelessly and refusing to catch my eye. Its still doing it now, in fact, but *whispers* I have tricked it. What I did was to pretend I was going to have a little stroll through their archives and I clicked on the �older� button. Then (and this is the clever bit) I could see all the entries that diaryland said I wasn�t allowed to read and�.and�. I could click on them and EVERYTHING!! Now I know, despite diaryland�s best efforts, that Anna locked herself out and had a bit of a moment needing some intervention by an old lady with a bottle of brandy and Joisty has had a horrid cold and probably eats too much toast to really consider that he has a balanced diet. All important stuff, ladies and gents, which I need to know. So PPPPPTTTTHHHHHRRUUUPP to diaryland, I�ve read �em now. Hahaha, how d�ya like THEM apples????


I think one day Jooj might actually rule the world.

She tells me stuff. Loads of stuff. And she knows that I won�t judge and I�ll give my honest opinion and I�ll give advice if I think it�s needed.

Last week, she told me that her friend Wardy was having a bit of a tough time, boyfriend-wise. Wardy is not the most sensible of girls and has parents who, whilst not actually neglectful, certainly don�t pay as much attention to their daughter as is necessary to keep her on the straight and narrow. Wardy calls me Extramum. She tells Jooj stuff, knowing that Jooj will tell me and then I�ll tell Jooj what I think and Jooj will tell Wardy and Wardy gets advice from A mum without having to talk to HER mum. I find it all a bit sad, to be honest.

Jooj told me Wardy�s 18 year old ex boyfriend had come around, whilst Wardy�s mum and dad were on holiday (leaving her in the charge of her 19 year old sister). There�d been some snogging and stuff like that and then Wardy had gone upstairs. The ExBF had followed her upstairs and, after some fairly forceful �discussion�, they�d had sex. I didn�t get a chance to be horrified before Jooj was on MSN. I reproduce the gist of the conversation for you:

You should be ashamed of yourself
What are you talking about
You know what I�m talking about, you fucking disgusting paedo rapist.
OMG! What the fuck? I�m not a rapist!
Wardy struggled and said No. You forced her. That makes you a rapist.
She liked it after a while, she only struggled cos it was her first time
Oh, well, that�s OK then. Fair play to you for making her first time so SPECIAL. She struggled cos she didn�t want to, you tosser. You don�t seem to care that you�ve fucked up her life
No I haven�t. I love her.
Yeh. You love her so much you couldn�t even be bothered to use a condom. What will you do if she�s pregnant?
I�d stand by her of course
You�d have a hard job standing by her from your prison cell. She�s 14 for fuck�s sake. You�ll go to jail if she�s pregnant
Fuck off.
How many other little girls have you raped, you sick fuck.
Wardy�s the only girl I�ve been with who�s been under 16
Oh, so its usually many grown women have you raped then?
Fuck off.
I will. I�ve said what I wanted to say. You say you love her but you don�t love anything but your dick. You should be on your knees begging her for forgiveness. You�re a fucking disgusting, perverted, lowlife scumbag. Wardy doesn�t need paedo creeps like you in her life. You stay the fuck away from her or I�LL go to the police.

The sad thing is, Wardy seems to have already moved on from the experience and is talking to Jooj about what chavvy Dole Scrounger in Waiting she�s going to date next. Jooj is finding it all a bit more serious. She said to me, �The thing is, mum, she�ll never get that time back again, will she? She can�t undo that and have another �first time� with someone a bit more deserving.�

Much as I wish she�d been able to admonish without recourse to a tirade of bad language, I�m so proud that she had that courage of her convictions to be able to call someone out on their appalling behaviour and hopefully make them think, just for a nano-second, about the consequences of their actions.

She is Joojie Girl, hear her roar.


I�ve pretty much decided not to renew my contract at work. I love my project and I know that it�s helping people that desperately need the help but I just cant work for that organisation any more. The charity that I work for (and that has the contract to deliver my project) is run by one woman, my boss. She set up the charity in the first place and she�s Chairman of the Board of Trustees and Chief Executive. She�s also mad. Like PROPER mental. Every single member of staff there is unhappy. She bullies, she makes unreasonable demands, she has favourites, she makes people cry and she�s generally just one of the most despotic, unpleasant, deluded people I�ve ever met.

There will be hell to pay when I hand in my notice but I�m prepared for that. I will offer two months notice instead of the required one month � my resignation letter (already written!) explains that this is for her to be able to recruit a replacement instead of just passing the work on to my overworked colleagues and to effect a proper, professional and complete, handover. I have even offered to do some of that handover period on a voluntary basis so that extra financial strain isn�t put on the charity as a whole. I don�t think I can be fairer but I know that she is going to take it absolutely personally and that my co-workers are going to have to live with the fallout. I feel very bad about that � they are my friends and they are dedicated, hardworking, much-maligned professionals, doing an often-distressing job under the most trying of circumstances. If anyone can come up with a reasoned answer to the inevitable �Why didn�t you tell me you were unhappy?� question, I�d love to hear it. I don�t think �Because you are so far up your own arse you would not have taken a blind bit of notice, you mental old bat� is really what I should say if I�m to depart with my dignity intact.

I don�t have another job to go to but I�ve talked to L and we can manage for a few months on my savings � hopefully long enough for me to find something a bit more low-key which will allow me more time to spend being a wife and mother � both being things I�ve had to neglect recently as I�ve been utterly consumed with the project and its success. It IS a success � I�ve worked really hard - but I�m completely unsupported in my efforts.

When I called my boss to tell her that I�d set up six new programmes in towns right across the county and that the tally of people completing previous programmes was now approaching the 200 mark, the VERY first thing she said was �You need to be on the Isle of Wight. And Portsmouth. When are you doing those?�

I called the moderator of my project and told her the same thing. She said �OMIGOD! SIX new programmes??? That�s FANTASTIC!�. She doesn�t work for our organisation � she oversees all the project providers for the whole of the country (different ones in each county � individual charities got to bid for the work and we got the contract for our county).


I passed my NVQ4. I�ve got a certificate with my name on it and everything. I tried to find a link which would tell you how astonishingly clever you have to be to get an NVQ4 in Business Administration but there didn�t seem to be one. Opinion seems to be divided on whether or not it�s equivalent to a degree. People with degrees say its not, although colleges seem to say that it is. Whatever. I have it now. Presumably, now that I have the qualification and certificate, the Mickey Mouse ears will follow in the post.


Jooj got her braces off and is now officially TOO DAMN GORGEOUS.

Cow.


that�s it. I�m done.

Later
S
x




back - forth