OMG! The photos actually LOADED!

2008-03-12, 9:17 p.m.

Right then.

What I was going to say, before I was rudely interrupted by technology refusing to have anything to do with me (and frankly, I don�t blame it!), was that we�ve been up to all sorts of stuff. None of it really worthy of an entry all by itself, but kind of enough to make one of those photo-entry thingies where you can just scroll through in a couple of seconds and make my site meter look good.

First off, we invited the builders to dinner last week as they are doing a splendidly splendid job. I stuffed them full of enormous amounts of food and they posed for a team photo. There�s no food on the table as they have eaten every scrap. Had I though to take a picture of it, you would also have seen that there was no beer in the fridge, no vodka in the bottle, no whisky in the whole of the northern hemisphere etc etc etc. Come to think of it, that last bit probably explains my inability to haul my arse out of bed before lunchtime the next day.

Anyway. Here they are, from far left: Gene, Artis, BF, Rosco (he�s English, despite the silly name) and Jeff (also English. He�s the boss man and he�s awfully good at making fun of BF. Nearly as good as me!)
Photobucket

Next day I wasn�t in the mood for cooking so I threw caution to the wind and got a ready meal from Asda. Now, I KNOW that you cant see it in this pic, as I was probably still shaking with astonished mirth as I was talking the pic, but you may care to notice that it was a packet of salmon, in a sauce.

embassy

Had I not been quite so crappy at photography, you might also be able to see the allergy warning on the top right hand side. Now I know that this is being seen by Asda shoppers the terminally thick but is there REALLY any need to write �Contains Fish�??????

*shakes head in wonderment*

Still on the subject of food, my friend for-tart asks, somewhat rudely if I might make so bold �what the hell is toad in the hole?�. Well, dear, its THIS:

Traditional British Toad In The Hole Recipe
- 8 British Sausages (pork perferably)
- 300ml / half pint of milk
- 2 eggs
- pinch of salt
- 100g (4oz) of plain flour
Fry the sausages until just browned* (not well done) and set aside. Don�t let them get stone cold. Reserve some of the fat and juices extracted during the frying process.
Preheat your oven to around 220 centigrade (425 Fahrenheit).
Beat together the milk, eggs and flour until you have a smooth batter mixture with lots of air bubbles.
Pour around 3 tbsp of the sausage fats and juices into a yorkshire pudding tin or other small roasting tin and put the tin in the oven until the fat is ridiculously hot.
Place the sausages in a single layer on the bottom of the tin and quickly pour over the yorkshire pudding batter mix (before the tin gets a chance to cool down) and return to the oven.
Bake for around 25 - 40 minutes until the batter has risen and turned a golden brown.
Serve with onion gravy, some veg of your choice and (if your arteries can stand it) some creamy mashed potato.

*you can put the sausages in uncooked, but then only the tops go brown in the oven and the rest just looks a little bit too much like flabby cocks for my liking.
Splendid cold weather luncheon (and jolly economical if you are short of cash, as you can use small sausages and lots of batter!)
Saturday afternoon I got a visit from Nice IT Guy as he wanted me to help him with a little project. He�s got himself some Ginormous Boingy Feet and wants to make some kind of hairy costume to wear over them. I think this is the kind of look he�s going for eventually:

Photobucket

Ive never made a werewolf costume before and I don�t believe the sewing patterns are readily available (New! From Butterick! Scare the living shit out of your neighbourhood with our new range � just Sew�n�Scream! Choose from werewolf, zombie, rotting corpse or Geri Halliwell) so I had to make some patterns first. BF came in in the middle � giant sheets of newspaper cut into weird shapes spread all over the floor, yards of fur fabric draped over every chair and, in the middle, his dearly beloved, measuring various bits of a man dressed in American Football shoulder pads with giant springs attached to his feet.

He shook his head. He said �Im not getting involved.� Then he left.

Oooh, I forgot tosay, the Latvians have been coming into the house to use the loo as the toilet facilities in the new studio aren�t ready yet, so after the heavy drinking dinner-based experiences of Friday night, I chalked this on the chalk board in the downstairs loo, as a little joke:

the embassy

Gene and Artis both seemed to find this very amusing, but it wasn�t until they�d left for the evening that I found this little chap sat on the cistern:

the ambassador

Just get over the fact that he�s made from toilet paper. He�s now known as The Latvian Ambassador.


The other thing that�s been occupying my time has been our splendid new game. Basically, you stand in te conservatory with a sucker gun, point it at your reflection in the patio doors, and try to shoot your (reflected) self in the head.

We call it Sucker Gun Suicide!

Ready���.

ready

Lick����.

lick

Aim�����

aim

FIRE!!!!!!!!!!

fire

If you care to look closely at that last pic, you will see what fantastically good shots me and te BF are to have got our suckers within 2� of each other. In case you were in ANY doubt whatsoever, here�s the close-up.

extra target shot

Wanna take me on?

Later
S
x




back - forth