Happy Joojday!

2007-11-21, 9:31 p.m.
Happy Whatever-you-choose-to-be-thankful-for, my American Cousins! And a very pleasant Thursday to the rest of you!

Its still Wednesday night here but Im just doing this in readiness as I wont have time tomorrow.

Its Jooj's birthday tomorrow. She was looking at herself in the mirror this morning - peering this way and that. Then she said "OMG Mummie, I cant believe Im going to be, like, TWELVE tomorrow!" in a comi-tragic way.

My guv is on holiday from 7th Dec til the new year so today was choc full of meetings as she frantically tries to get a load of projects finished before she goes away. I got home so frazzled that I shouted at both BF AND smashthegas (only in a "will you decide which one of you needs to speak to me first you over-tall, irritating, pains in the arse!" way as BF was calling down the stairs to me while I was on the phone to Smash), which is not like me at all. I pretty much NEVER yell.....at Smash.

I need a day off.

Because I am filled with Working Mother Guilt am Superwoman, and despite having no discernable kitchen to speak of, I have still spent this evening icing a birthday cake for her. I had Mater cook two rounds of sponge cake (after much whining on her part about the inconvenience and how she didnt think she'd have time - she's RETIRED ferchristsake!)for me and picked them up after work today. Ive filled the cake with buttercream and Pater's home-made jam (plum!)and have iced the outside with the snowiest white peaks of royal icing (*ahem* couldnt find the box with the food colouring in!). I like royal icing on sponge cake - if you ice the cake the night before you need it, the icing doesnt go hard like on a Christmas cake, it just gets a nice crust on it and the inside stays soft. Couldnt find the icing syringe so cant do any fancy decorations. Its a minimalist cake.

Jooj has taken to speaking like Blackadder. When I went to kiss her goodnight tonight, she said "Ah. Mother, dear. Goodnight." She even made an embryonic attempt to raise one eyebrow.

I feel she may be forced to drop her air of detachment tomorrow morning when she opens all her presents. HP Order of the Phoenix on DVD, Plain White Ts CDs, perfume ("So...Rockstar!" it smells quite nice, actually. I may borrow it.) and a pair of boots of such awesomeness that I may have to chop off my toes and keep them myself. They are crinkly black patent with a zip AND and flappy studded bit. No high heel and not pointy, so they wont even deform her feet! Her father will hate Hate HATE them, which is another reason to love them.

Speaking of Shagnasty - I hope those of you spending thanksgiving with family members of whom you are somewhat less than fond may give a thought to THIS peach of an evening I have planned for tomorrow:

Mater and Pater collect Treac from school and bring her home. Jooj is already home with BF. I arrive back from work. Then I must have tea and cake with all of them before getting rid of Mater and Pater before Shagnasty arrives at 6. Jooj has requested pizza for dinner and, as I am teaching at 7.30, we must eat pizza pretty much as soon as Shagnasty arrives/parents go. As I am not a naturally churlish sort, Shagnasty is obviously invited to share the pizza. Oh hoorah. I get to have dinner with my exhusband AND my fiance. I know, boys! Lets have a scowling contest!

Wish me luck.

s
x




back - forth