Big Scary Dog!

2007-08-15, 10:30 p.m.
Third day of my holiday.

Still haven�t actually achieved anything much.

Still raining. Some of the washing which was on the line had come half unpegged and was trailing round and round in the mud. *sigh*

Treacle wasn�t feeling very well this morning. As you can see, practically at Death�s Door

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

so Jooj and I went into Chigley to try and finish of the �back to school� shopping. That�s never fun, is it! Its all new uniform for both girls this term as they�ve both changed schools. Now Jooj is in the seniors, there�s a bit more pressure on looking cool but still staying within the constraints of the uniform list. So far we haven�t managed to find a navy blue skirt that isn�t �Way Mank, mum!� and the only one we found which was even halfway acceptable had an elasticated waist. Surely they�ve never been a hot fashion item have they? Unless its on the under 8�s. Also couldn�t find any shoes which didn�t double as ballerina pumps. As she�ll be riding her bike to school most days, she really needs something a bit more substantial but there just isn�t anything about. Unless you count Clarks, and at upwards of �40 a pair (yes, that really IS $80!) and about as much style as�as�.well, something very unstylish, I just cant do that to my child.

I remember my last year at my posh private school. My dad bought me a pair of Clarks lace-ups for school. Even tho I was 16, I cried. On the way home from school on the bus, I stopped off at my boyfriends house. He had friends visiting from his school (the local comp). If the boater, blazer, satchel and knee socks hadn�t secured my place as Queen of the Fucking Freaks, the Clarks lace-ups did it. The other kids were goggle-eyed with horror. Even my boyfriend suggested I go home and change before going to his house EVER AGAIN.

Jooj and I popped into Tesco on the way back from Chigley � Jooj had expressed an interest in eating hummus for lunch as she�d had it at my Sis� house last week and really liked it. Im all for her eating stuff which isn�t pre-packed and full of crap AND I�m trying to teaching her to be a bit resourceful so we bought some chick peas and tahini and when we got back home I set her to work with the garlic squisher and a lemon and the food processor and she made a bloody good job of it. We didn�t have it for lunch but we did dip our pizza crusts in it at supper time. Yum!

Treacle was feeling a bit better after lunch so we put our wellies on and went for a walk down the river.

As we were walking down the hill towards the footpath, a big dog ran out of one of the gardens. It ran right up to us (well, it ran right up to Jooj as I was hiding behind her. Yup. I hid from a dog behind my 11 year old daughter). Just as I was starting to panic�.it ran away again. Jooj said �That was weird. It just ran away.� Then she carried on walking. I was looking over my shoulder for about the next half a mile.

The riverbank wasn�t as muddy as I�d thought it would be. As we walked along, I pointed out items of interest; big spider web, funny shaped dog-poo, elderberry bush (we ate some. Then we said �Yorrr muzzer was a hamster and yorr fazzer smelled of elderberreeeez�* to each other for a bit. Then we had a good sniff of the elderberries to see what they smell of. They don�t smell of anything, Except, perhaps, elderberries)

Now BFs come home from the pub, so Im going to drink some whisky and maybe smoke a little joint, then Im going to go have me some sex.

Later
S
x

* Its from this




back - forth