...If it hadnt been fer you meddlin' kids!

2007-05-17, 9:18 p.m.
Hello dears!

Got to be quick as Im supposed to be packing. After work tomorrow we are off down to Cornwall for the weekend to visit Tom and Tam. Much Yayness! We are staying in the pub opposite where they live as, I understand, their guest wing is currently...ummm...non-existant, although Tam did say we could kip in their bathroom which would be OK too, I guess. Sleeping in a bath is always a bit funny tho, isnt it? When the bath is full of lovely warm water, its really easy to just nod off and do a passable 'basking hippo' impression, with just ones nostrils above the water. But an empty bath? It always SEEMS like its going to be comfortable, after all, its more or less the right shape and size. You always think its gonna be kind of like sleeping in a baby crib. You fill it up with sofa cushions and blankies and stuff and it LOOKS so cozy....but fucking hell, its SO uncomfortable!

Mind you, the times Ive slept in a bath have mostly been after a party of some sort and Ive been half cut and fully clothed (in case of early hours opportunist visitors - coming in for a pee and finding a half-naked drunk girl would prove just TOOO much temptation for the guys I hung around with in those days!)so I guess that would make a bit of a difference, but its the slippy-slideyness which is just WRONG in a bed, however makeshift!

So, its the pub across the road from Tom and Tam's for me and the BF and we shall pretend that we're on a proper holiday, instead of just two days with a five hour drive at each end!

Last weekend was a bit of a washout, in more ways than one - it rained so much on Sunday that the Gifted Child Archery Thingy was cancelled. Me and BF loaded the kids into the car and went off for a drive across the New Forest. By the time we got to Lyndhurst, the sun had come out and we had a stroll round the shops and a big rum and raisin icecream. Got distracted by the many many gift shops and spent waaaaay to much money on.....well....nothing really!

We went into a shop whcih was selling all kinds of stuff made just from wood. I picked up a little guitar-shaped box for the kids to give BF for his birthday (they dont need to know its the perfect size to keep his stash in!) and then we were seduced by a model making kit which was just tooooo lovely to leave alone. Checked out with BF that we would actually be able to make it, without any special tools or anything and took the thing home.

When we got it all out of the package, there didnt appear to be any instructions. Just this.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Our hearts sank.

But after a couple of days of scratching our heads and arguing, on Wednesday night BF actually finished...this!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Just in case you think Im joking, here's BF actually making the bloody thing

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

and once more, with can of restorative ale in the background

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Last night we stuffed it full of florists lights (they're tiny and can go underwater , so they're fab for in the bath!) and it looked like a Scooby Doo mansion!

In other news, Jooj came home all upset as Shagnasty told he she couldnt be in the concert that she's been rehearsing for months, as he was taking her to some company jolly over the same weekend. Had to get on the phone and do my best diplomatic negotiations this morning. The thing he wants to take her to is in Windsor (60 miles away) and he has already paid for the tickets. The concert is just an hour or so on the Saturday afternoon. I have offered to collect her from Windsor, drive her back to Chigley to do the concert and then drive her back to Windsor. This will cost me a tank of petrol and will mean that I cannot do the things that I had planned to do that day but she made a committment when she signed up for Musical Theatre Club and I feel she has to honour it. Eventually Shagnasty conceded and major catastrophe appears to have been averted.

When I went to pick Jooj up from school today, Spawn of MiniMe was there (she does Musical theatre Club too). She was desperate to have a look at my engagement ring and spent a couple of minutes Ooooh-ing and Aaaah-ing over it before we had to go. As Jooj and I got in the car I adopted the voice of 11 year old school girls the world over:

Omigod that is, like Sooo, bad. Cos now Spawn's gonna tell MiniMe that she's seen my engagement ring and, like, how big the diamonds are and everything and then MiniMe's gonna say, like, she wants one and everything and then she's gonna come round my house and like totally take my boyfriend off me like she did when she saw that daddy had a Jag and our house was, like bigger than hers and everything and then BF's gonna go off with her cos she's, like, way prettier and cleverer and, like, betterer than me and everything and Omigod my life's, like, O-ver.

Jooj laughed so hard I thought she was gonna die. Then we looked at each other and just went

"NOT!"

and laughed a bit more.

BF got the results of his blood test back and is definitely not going to die anytime soon unless he gets run over by a bus.

I got the results of the School Appeal thing back and Jooj didnt get a place at the school Shagnasty wanted (but only you lot know that, cos I havent told him yet). Im not in the slightest bit bothered, and I dont think Jooj will be either.

BF is on a bit of a health kick now he realises he's not about to croak and said he was going to get a bike after riding mine a couple of times. I said I would pay half and he could have it for his birthday (which is in a couple of weeks). He went and chose one and phoned me at work to say he'd been and picked it up today and would I transfer my half of the money out of my account to pay for it. My half was only slightly less than I paid for my first car. Memo to self: Set budget before letting BF go shopping for ANYTHING in the future.

Im now totally fucking broke.

(but my boy has a bike and he's sooooo pleased with it!)

Gave another singing lesson tonight - it still seems to be going OK and I havent been exposed as a fraud yet! Phew!

I'll be back after the weekend (probably with photos!)

s
x





back - forth