Think Positive!

2006-11-20, 9:02 p.m.
Welcome to Stepfie's School of Postive Mental Attitude!

I had this entry all planned already but then I read something on one of my buddies' diaries which made me decide I HAD to write this - not just because it might make her feel better about her hair-do, but because it might make her laugh a bit.

Sunday afternoon, after Jooj's party, (more on that some other time) I took a good look at my hair and figured some serious action was required. Ive been soooo busy over the last couple of weeks that I havent had a chance to get it cut. No big deal as my hair is pretty short anyway but I also hadnt had time to attend to my roots and my barnet was starting to look just a wee bit cheese on toast-ish. Or, as the ever-lovely BF told me when we were first dating "like a field of corn....laid on tarmac".

Reader: What? You colour your hair?! OMG, I was SURE that was your natural shade! Im just....STUNNED!

ahem.

Anyway, I figured as there's no way I could get it cut this weekend, or next weekend (going to a trade show, snorrrrre), Id just do the roots and suffer looking like Paula Yates for a few more weeks til I have a bit more time.

Up in the bathroom with the 40vol peroxide and blue bleach, cover the roots, wipe it off my ears once it starts hurting and wrap the whole mess in clingfilm and a towel to make sure it doesnt take three hours to "take". Take note of that underlined bit, that'll come in handy later.

Tidy up sitting room, prepare dinner, play with kids a bit, help Jooj with a craft project, make a cup of tea, chat to BF on the phone for a bit and OHMYGOSH! Get. This. Stuff. Off. My. Hair!!!!

Took the towel and clingfilm off. Everything seemed OK. The blue goo had gone a bit foamy, but thats nothing out of the ordinary. Into the shower and LOADS of baby shampoo, scrub scrub scrub. Big dollop of coconut stuff to stop hair turning to raffia and all done. Out of the shower, check the colour. Its white. Thats OK, too - the lighter the better. Dry body and then do Stepfie patented hairstyling method No.463. Put towl over head and rub very vigorously.

Hmm. Take towel off head and wonder where all...these....little..white....feathers...have...come....fromHOLY SHITE ITS MY HAIR!!!!

Closer inspection (with rising sense of panic) tells me that the heat/clingfilm/length of time combo (remember that underlined bit? Huh? HUH?) has resulted in the last half an inch of my hair just...ummm....falling apart. Only on the top of my head - I guess where the heat is - and only the last half inch.

I lean over the basin and start yanking at my hair - all over, until I cant hear any more RRRRiiiippp noises. The basin is half full of feathery white fronds. It looks like someone had a pillow fight. Fearfully I look up into the mirror.

It looks fine. I have another look. It still looks fine. I comb it. It still looks fine. I let it dry. It still looks fine.

Stepfie's positive mental attitude looks in the mirror and says "You wanted half an inch cut off it, what are you moaning about? Your hairdresser can neaten it up next time you go."

Stepfie puts on lipstick and changes out of ghastly orange fleece hoodie. BF comes in. BF looks up stairwell at Stepfie.

"Hey Baby."
"Hey"
"Your hair looks nice."
"Thank you"
"You always do it nice. Clever bunny."

Later
s
x
Anyway. Here's a pic of Jooj blowing out eleven candles.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



back - forth