2nd of Friday (pies and piss-ups)

2005-11-11, 8:43 p.m.
Made the most stupendous tarragon and mushroom tart for dinner last night. Im not vegetarian but I have lots of friends who are and I think its nice to be able to give them something a bit more cerebral than extra potatoes if they come to dinner. Ergo, every now and then, I try out a veggie recipe that I can then rustle up for dinner parties at a later date.

Five minutes before it finished cooking we got a call from BFs chum asking if we wanted to go out as it was his birthday and he�d been let down at the last minute. We agreed to meet him for drinks and then felt really bad and told him he had to come and eat with us first. He turned up on his motorbike, the tart got eaten (although Chum didn�t believe that Id made it and had to be shown the baking tin of the same dimensions as proof). Duly repaired to them pub and then it all went a bit pear shaped. Id had a bit of a day and it�d taken me 2 and a half hours to get home from work (motorway closed, total gridlock in surrounding streets and intersecting motorway), so I wasn�t really in the mood for partying, but hey, it was his birthday, what can you do?

I did manage to stay sober although BF and Chum were both somewhat bolloxed by 11. There was an extra pint of beer on the table that no-one seemed to own but that none of the guys could drink as they were all�.full. But then, at �2.75 a pint, no one wanted to leave it either! There was a bit of a stalemate for a bit while they stared at it and argued about how much they�d had already and that You should drink it, No, Ive had more than you, You drink it etc etc. Eventually I questioned their manhood in no uncertain terms and drunk it myself. In one go. To rousing cheers all round as I don�t drink beer. And I don�t look like the sort of person who CAN drink beer. Hooray for me. Also got a cheer for doing a really spectacular burp afterwards but I think we�ll just skip over that bit.

Got home accompanied by liggers, partiers and hangers on. Drank some more. Chum insisted BF got his new guitar out (�3000 worth of maple and spruce; a beauty. Best thing about it is that we didn�t have to pay for it as he has a kind of sponsorship thing for this particular type of guitar). Sadly BF was way, way too shit-faced to play AT ALL and wasn�t able to oblige on Chums request to play Cavatina. BF hates that tune anyway, and Chum pronounces it in a weird way that makes it sound like Cappuccino which always makes me want to laugh in the kind of way that arts professors do on the TV when confronted by a particularly gauche line of questioning. I am a smug cow. BF was so drunk he couldnt even play Smoke on The Water, which even Jooj can play. I took the fabulously expensive guitar away from the large swaying BF and put it away. Then I took away the crash-helmet and keys from the large and swaying-even-more Chum and told him he could leave his motorbike on our drive. Then I threw them all out except BF as it was 1 ish and we ALL had to get up for work this morning.

BF suggested a joint and some sex. We settled on a shared cigarette (I rolled, obviously) and some snoring (him) and sniggering in a self-righteous way (me).

God, he looked like shit this morning. Took me 45 minutes to get him out of bed.

I went to a marketing meeting mid-morning. When I got back to my office, Slave had a message for me:

"BF phoned and I said "She�s in a meeting, shall I get her to phone you back?" and he said "No, Im at a session, please could you give her a message. Can you tell her that I really really love her", so I said I would".

What better phone message is there than that?

Bought Slave some sushi for lunch. We shared and then we had some chocolate and talked about handbags. I am uber-bitch-high-powered-executive-hardfaced-madam.

NOT.




back - forth