1st of Friday (a bit boring)

2005-11-04, 8:43 p.m.
Friday night. Shouldn�t I be doing something fabulous and envy-inspiring? Nope, apparently not. Or I would be doing it, instead of sitting her in BF�s freezing cold office (cant use the studio PC, the keyboard�s fucked) trying to think of some way to make my day sound interesting.

What with BF being away and all, there just wasn�t any point in staying awake last night and I went to bed really really early. Miraculously this does appear to have worked to my advantage as I was not nearly so worn out and apathetic this morning as I have been over the past�ummm�ten years? I even summoned up the energy to make the girls some scrambled eggs for breakfast instead of letting them deal with their own choccy hoops (or whatever it is they eat) and then bitching about the amount of milk they�ve spilled. Even managed to do the school run without shouting or being overly sarcastic.

I am slightly concerned that last nights big sleep means that I have lost my fear of the dark (and of burglars and of being murdered in my bed etc etc) as it is one of the things I absolutely LOVE about having a man around the house again. Does this mean Im now strong and tough and don�t need a big hairy-arsed chap around to protect me any more? Oh, I so hope not as Im absolutely crap at being on my own. Apart from the scaredy cat stuff, I have a nasty tendency to drink juice out of the carton, wear track suit bottoms, not shave my underarms and eat unsuitable food combinations when left to my own devices. Not very Stepford, you must agree. And tho its desperately unfashionable, I do actually LIKE putting something pretty on, making a lovely dinner and generally being a gorgeous oasis of fabulousness for a man of my choosing. BF is always fantastically appreciative of my efforts and its NICE, dammit, when a chap says "You look lovely" or "Yum, fab dinner" or even "Hurry up with that, I need to have sex with you NOW" � particularly when its BF saying it as he does actually mean it. He has been known to go severely misty-eyed when gazing on my astounding beauty � actually Im not particularly beautiful in the classical sense of the word, but I scrub up OK and I know what suits me and, compared to plenty of other women my age, Im actually still fairly groovy and together � but when someone is holding your face in your hands and looking all tearful saying (not through a haze of beer) "YOU. Are fucking LOVELY" then that�s enough for me.

Have had to have loads of cuddles with my girls tonight just to make me feel OK (although, had to wash Jooj�s hair first as she was "all itchy" and I suspected nits � thankfully there weren�t any). We ate cous-cous for dinner (BF hates it) and then ate sweets and watched the Simpsons together and they even gave me some of the sweets that they actually like instead of licking them first and then saying "You can have this one mum, its horrible".

There�s fireworks going off all around (Its TOMORROW, you fuckwits, the 5th, the FIFTH! Its not "remember, remember, any dry evening in November" � I would like to go around to all their houses and give them an impromptu history lesson�or maybe just pack all their cellars with gunpowder). Sorry about the rant, its just one of my little pet hates � the way people (especially the English) hijack customs and fuck about with them til they�re unrecognisable. Ask your average Englishman/woman what The Gunpowder Plot/Halloween/Easter/Christmas/May Day etc etc is REALLY about and they wouldn�t have a clue. Which probably explains why I have had absolutely NO luck whatSOever in finding Christmas cards with something Christmassy on them AGAIN this year. Plenty of seasonal references (robins, snowmen, Winnie the Pooh wearing a scarf and ice skates) but no so much as an angel, or a shepherd, or a wise man or (heaven forbid) a wee baby in a bed of straw. Don�t get me wrong, Im not a religious nut or anything, I just like to send something�appropriate. I usually end up buying those hideously expensive embossed jobbies with renaissance prints of Madonna and Child by Longdeadio on them. Bleh. (Sometimes they have a gold border to make them look like a real picture. I hate myself for buying them).

Anyway, now Ive made myself all grumpy and you�re probably going "What�s with HER tonight? Where�s all the stuff about sex and smoking pot?" so Im going downstairs for a cig (first of the day � I think Ive got BFs cold) and I�ll return with something more entertaining later.




back - forth