Stage, Snot and Scraps

2005-10-20, 10:19 p.m.
rehearsal, rehearsal, rehearsal. Boy, am I knackered! Anyways, it went OK tonight, which is good, I guess, as we open on Monday. Came on and off as required, didnt bump into anything and only forgot my lines once right at the beginning. Director has promised we will be doing a really quick one tomorrow so we should be all finished by 9 which will make a nice change. BF has got the WORST cold - snot, wheezing, coughing like a docker etc etc. When I got home from work he'd been in bed and was shuffling about naked on the landing.

On reflection "Eeeeuuuw" was probably not the most helpful thing I could have said but it wasnt pretty, I can tell you. The coughing is particularly unpleasant, he's having to really WORK at getting his full quota of cigarettes in as its making him cough so much. He's not eating anything either which Im sure isnt helping the healing process - he hasnt even touched the nourishing home made soup that I left out for him tonight but then he is much too flaming old for me to have to nurse-maid him into eating and if he wants to be sick, like, forEVER, then I guess that's his lookout.

Mercifully the cold does appear to have dampened his ardour somewhat - as I dont think I could really cope with having sex with him while he's looking so....icky. There's so much snot and stuff flying about it has more than the hint of shagging Jabba the Hutt about it. If he suggests I put the Princess Leia costume on, Im running for the hills. Mind you, with that big ole Danish Pastry hairdo, at least I wouldnt be able to hear him coughing.

My darling Jooj came home from school yesterday having been kicked jolly hard by a bigger girl for committing the heinous crime of wearing a skirt to school. Apparently its geeky. As an ex-geek myself my heart goes out to her and she's had a stiff talking to about there being no such thing as the wrong clothes and how intellect will always win in the end. She took my lecture very well, I thought, but did point out that this other girl "is bloody HUGE, mum". I let the bad language pass (mostly because I was laughing too much) and will monitor the situ for a bit in case it requires a scary-Stepfie visit to the school for some laying down of the law.

Incidentally, dontcha just LOVE my new layout - courtesy of my dear friend moviegrrl, who knows about these things and is TOP. Mebbe's she can also give Jooj some tips as I once saw her in a spectacular geek/big-bully fist fight more years ago than I care to remember! Geeky Wrong Clothes triumphed over Cool But Thick that day, I can tell you (and surprised a few people along the way, too). She probably wont thank me for mentioning this stuff, but...MAN, it was so COOL.

BF gone to the pub to test the medicinal properties of lager. Im off now to make nutritious packed lunches for Jooj and Treacle - Treacle has a non-unifrm day tomorrow so she'll probably come home having had a "wrong clothes kicking" too. Actually, that's not very likely as she is uber cool in an Ozzy Osborne kind of way. And much bigger than the other kids.

Nightie night.
x



back - forth