on the move (but no Bob Hoskins - 10 housepoints if you get that reference!)

2015-05-25, 9:46 p.m.
Uurgh. I should update more often. Especially when I actually have things to telll you about!

First off, I got a new job! Yay, me! My secondment at Grapetree finishes at the end of July (they deffo wanted me to stay – I know this because they told me – but I just don’t want to) and I was going to go back to Chigley High as a Cover Supervisor, which was my job before I started all these secondments and fixed term contracts and all the other things that meant I was earning almost enough to live on, but Cover Supervisors make pretty much NO money and I wasn’t really looking forward to going back to being really really broke, instead of just broke, so I’d been looking around for a little while.

There didn’t seem to be that much about but then, during the Easter Holidays I saw a job advertised at a private, Special School – working with girls with complex behavioural, social and emotional needs. Its less money than Im on at the moment but its in ChavVille (so local) and the more I read about it the more I liked the sound of it.

I applied and got a day-long interview the week before last. The girls I worked with were just lovely – in the Pupil Panel part of the interview I was allowed to ask questions so I asked them what sort of person they were looking for. They had a whispery, behind-the-hands conversation before all nodding in agreement. “Kind.” said the spokesgirl. Anyways, it turns out I was kind enough for the girls to like me and experienced enough (cf cheap enough!) for the staff to like me and now I have a new job, to start in September. No 30-miles-each-way commute, no 7am-6pm days, no planning, no marking and it all sounds jolly positive.

Then there’s the small matter of finally getting all the travel plans sorted for Corfu. We leave Portsmouth on 28 July, overnight across the Channel to Cherbourg (France). Then we drive, and drive, and drive and drive and drive. I know the distances wont mean much to my US readers, where people regularly drive stupid distances, but here in the UK the maximum you can drive without ending up in the sea is about 800 miles. Our roads aren’t much like yours either, because quite often we’re travelling historical twisty turny little cart tracks that have become highways over the passage of 1000 years or so. Ive driven on your roads, USA. You have some awesome roads – it’s a shame your speed limits are so uninspiring, really.

So, the first day we drive to Lyon (France), then the 2nd day from Lyon to Rimini (Italy). 3rd day Rimini to Bari (down the back of the ‘boot’ of Italy) where we catch the overnight ferry to Corfu. Im actually getting quite excited about it now, especially as…

…we’re getting rave reviews from the gigs we’re doing. Bit of a false start when we showed up at a pub near Salisbury (with tstough in tow, as he was visiting) only to find out it had closed down!!! The less I say about that the better.

Saturday night we were back at the venue where L had his heart attack. Fucking terrifying for the first 20 minutes or so, but then we got into our stride and all the new numbers went down really well and we picked up a further two gigs from people who were in the audience and who liked what we do. Happy Days! My sis took photos and video so, if you know me on FB, you’ll probably get to see those at some point.

Don’t take too much notice of how fat I look. Im already well aware of it, without you nudging your collective spouses and saying “Fucking Hell, she’s let herself go!”. Maybe now all the Corfu stuff is sorted and the new job is sorted and L and I are kind of getting on OK (more on that some other time – brain damage is a cunt, and so is heart medication. Theyre both cunts.), then maybe I wont feel quite so much like eating my own body weight in biscuits every night out of the sheer misery of having too much shitty stuff to think about.

I need to talk about L, but I cant. I don’t know where to start and some of you know him IRL now so it feels disloyal.

*sigh*

Later
S
x




back - forth