BANG! And the free-time is gone! :-/

2015-04-25, 6:27 p.m.
I am a bad diaryer.

Hmm, that’s sounds too much like “bad diarrhoea” for it to actually apply to fabulous me, but anyway, yeh, I don’t write in this diary as much as I should.

Don’t get me wrong, I PLAN to….just, then life gets in the way and its all too immediate and needy and I have to pay attention to it and then another day’s gone by and Ive done fuck all.

Anyways, Im here now and, who knows, I might even get around to responding to those lovely people who have received comments from me recently in which I made offers of help and whom I have, thus far, spectacularly failed to help. You know who you are….and its OK if you hate me a little bit right now.

I finally went back to work on Monday, after what seems like an eternity of nearly-dead husbands and hospitals and recuperation and procrastinating and (only in the very latter parts) swinging the lead. The head teacher has taken away one of my classes – I made it a condition of ‘going back’ and they went for it! – and my timetable’s a whole lot more manageable now. Of course, this does mean Ive had Year 11s hanging about at my door all week whining about “missing me” and wanting me back teaching them again, which is ironic as they were lazy little toe-rags most of the time and never faiuled to bust my chops about all manner of things. Such is the nature of teenagers, I suppose – they don’t know what they’ve got til its gone – so Ive had to promise to sign year books and to be permanently on call should they need my help during their exams (which they wont).

My other classes have been sweetly concerned for my wellbeing and seem genuinely pleased to have me back which was a surprise (and a relief!) and made the week generally a bit easier than I thought it was going to be.

It’s a fairly short summer term (this half finishes on 20-somethingth of May) and Im already counting down the number of teaching days Ive got left until I leave Grapetree. Ive enjoyed it there but Im done now, I need to be doing something else. Plan B is to go back to Chigley High but that’s not what I want to do (actually ‘Plan B’ is a bit of an understatement – its actually coming in somewhere around ‘Plan Z’ or so) so really I don’t know what Im going to do. The summer is covered, now that our Corfu Tour is back on, tho!

I’d kind of put everything on hold for a bit as I wasn’t sure if L was going to be well enough to go and I didn’t want to go booking stuff up that I later had to cancel. And then when I realised he WAS well enough to go, that coincided with him being so much of a cunt that I didn’t actually want to take him with me anyway, so I had to wait for that to wear off, too.

One problem is that we were going to share the driving across Europe and then pick up a ferry from Brindisi (Italy) to Corfu Town. Its around a 1300 mile drive across France and Italy and we were going to allow maybe three or four days to do it, stopping at B&Bs on the way. Now that L’s had his S-ICD fitted, he has to surrender his driving license, and I really don’t fancy doing quite THAT much driving (especially as L is prone to falling asleep as soon as we set off and I really do need a navigator/drink passer/sweet unwrapper/radio changer if Im not going to go completely mental) so, again, there was some doubt whether we would actually be able to make the trip at all.

Then a couple of days ago, within about ten minutes of each other, I got a call asking us to play at our favourite bar in San Stefanos and found a ferry route from Ancona to Corfu Town which would mean the drive would only be just over 900 miles (or 2 to 3 days). I can easily do that myself – L will still have to use all his powers of staying awake if Im not to just dump his snoring arse at the side of the road somewhere around Lyon and pick up a murderous hitcher in his place (I hear murderous hitchers are really good at getting the lids off bottles of Coke without it fizzing up all over the upholstery).but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it!

There’s still a shit-ton of stuff to do to make the tour happen, but we DO have lovely new posters, which we’re pretty proud of:

poster photo poster_zpst5kqsm89.jpg

And you could always go and Like us on Facebook if you wanted to make us look popular (and, therefore, employable!) and that will make it ever more likely that we will be able to take on this epic road trip and I will be able to document it for your delectation while Im away and you can imagine that you, too, have driven a gazillion miles across Europe in the company of international pop stars (that’s me and L, in case you were wondering!). I might even learn how to break sentences up to make them readable. Who knows.

L’s recent cuntyness needs to be documented, but Im loath to do so, as I know quite a lot of you IRL now and it does seem very disloyal, bitching him out to people who he will actually see face-to-face ere long.

Ah, fuckit.

I’ll save it for another day – I don’t want to make anyone feel uncomfortable and, in his defence, he actually isn’t being particularly cunty at the moment. I’ll cut him some slack.

In other news, I used some Cillit Bang on ONE of the tiles in the shower. Just to see if it was really worth they hype (and the extra cost). Now I have ONE bright white tile and 473,000 dingy grey smeary tiles surrounding it. FUCK YOU, BARRY SCOTT, you bastard! Now Ive got to do the whole damn lot.

Bollocks.

 photo cillitbang_zpsymdghxia.jpg

Later
S
X

PS L is in the studio, doing some recording with a MIGHTILY piss-poor duo, who are also kind of friends of ours. They are lovely friends but terrible musicians, so Im hiding in the house, like the big cowardy custard that I am, pretending to do ‘important school work’ because that is much better than being in the studio pretending to like their music. Judge me not, Diaryland, lest ye be judged (and found to be too bloody judgey for your own good).




back - forth