calling it Plaisir d'Ange doesnt make it any more exotic

2013-05-06, 12:17 a.m.
If you freeze Angel Delight, it doesn�t turn into ice cream. This is a pity. I now have some frozen Angel Delight (which isn�t particularly nice) and no ice cream. Whilst the no-ice cream status quo has been maintained as I didn�t have any ice cream before I thought about freezing Angel Delight, I have wasted several hours of my precious time in waiting to see what would happen if you freeze Angel Delight, which takes quite a while to freeze. Certainly takes longer than going down the shop and getting some ice cream. Wish I�d done that now, instead.

Its such a stupidly long time since I wrote here. Stuff happens and I think �Yay! I�ll easily get a diary entry out of that!� and then I get all caught up with the flotsam and jetsam that is my daily life and the moment has passed. Years ago, when I started this � and it was a long time ago (8 years!) � I worked til 6ish every night, had two small children and a relentlessly horny husband and I stil used to write every couple of days. Now Im done with work by 4ish, my kids are far too grown up to need bedtime stories and help with homework and my husband�.well, lets not go there. And I don�t seem to have a moment to write anything much.

Since Ive started this, Ive also found out that you shouldn�t leave the freezer on Superfreeze if you are trying some dairy based Angel Delight/icecream alchemy as the temperature will plummet like a rock and (while we�re talking about rock) your unpleasant, yet still more or less edible, ersatz frozen dessert will harden into butterscotch granite and you will neither be able to bite it, nor to chip it out of the tub.

Bum.

I had a lesson observed on Thursday. I didn�t know I was going to be observed and the lesson had been planned by someone else so I didn�t know what I was going to be teaching until I got to the classroom. It was a bottom set Maths class and they were learning rotation of shapes. First I had to teach them how to use tracing paper, which slowed the lesson up a bit :-/ How can a 13 year old child not be able to use tracing paper? Anyways, I got my observation done and my boss said, if it had been an Ofsted inspection I would have got a �Good� for that lesson. Im pretty happy with that. Actually Im really happy with that, seeing I have seen REAL teachers get �Satisfactory� (and occasionally �Requires Improvement�!). The only thing I could have got better would have been an �Outstanding� and only really properfabulous teachers get Outstanding. Yay me!

Oh, and L�s dad died on Monday. That wasn�t very nice. L is�.well, he�s how you�d expect him to be really. No funeral plans yet as L is still trying to deal with his mental histrionic sister and a three-generation family feud which makes me want to weep with the stupidity of it all.

In a shameful bit of devious machination, I have invited my parents over for dinner tomorrow, generously suggesting that they come over in the early afternoon. This might just seem the action of a loving daughter who wants to spend time with her lovely mummie and daddie and definitely not the ulterior motive of a horticulturally-retarded offspring who knows that tomorrows chore-du-jour is weapons grade gardening. Did I mention that my parents� garden is like some kind of Chelsea Flower Show instruction manual? Even the chainsaw art tree stumps which are supposed to be mushrooms but actually look like giant penises, are tastefully lichen covered (and stopped leaking sap in an unpleasant way some time ago).

So yeh. Im going to abuse my elderly parents� goodwill and exploit their gardening talents in exchange for ballotine of chicken and a chocolate strawberry Baked Alaska.

Judge me if you must, diaryland. I would suggest you set up your court in my garden as it will be looking fucking awesome by tomorrow tea-time.

Later
S
x

PS If it looks like Im making light of L's bereavement, Im not. Just sometimes you have enough of writing about the horrid stuff and just want to spout drivel about Angel Delight, dontcha?



back - forth