Tedious - just skim it and look at the pictures.

2012-12-23, 11:03 p.m.
My laptop�s burning my bloody legs off.

Its been a while since I did a �Dumbass Things My Students Say� � Im not sure why that should be, as my students certainly aren�t getting any smarter. Perhaps they just haven�t been sharing their intellectual largesse with me. Then, just as Im beginning to think their pithy bon mots are a thing of the past, my walk to school has me stumble across possibly the world�s most stupid graffiti artist.

Photobucket

Ours is not a large school, and it was a matter of only moments before �Rhys� and �Brandon� had been identified. I think we�ve already established the limit of their intelligence so it was almost fun to explain to them what the maximum penalties are for Criminal Damage and how easy it might be for the police to identify them. The funniest bit was convincing them not only to hand over the boardpen �in case the police come around� but also having them believe that the local PCSO does her rounds at about 4pm so if they were quick after school, they might be able to wipe it off before she saw it. Honestly, these kids are THICK.

School�s been a bit odd the last couple of weeks, not least because I was waiting to hear about a job I�d applied for at a big, rough school in ChavTown. Eventually they did call me and tell me that I HAD got the job��but that their top-brass had been stalling and stalling and stalling and then had eventually said that they aren�t able to recruit �at this time� and had withdrawn the vacancy. The woman I�d have been working for was furious, and she�s pretty sure there�s something they aren�t telling her, but she couldn�t give me the job and that was the end of it. Shame really�.or rather it would be, if the school Im at now hadn�t just offered me a temporary teaching job which will take me through to the end of August! Yay! Its about another �5-6K/year which isn�t a huge amount but is enough to keep the wolf from the door for a bit longer. At the end of August (unless something else comes up before then), I go back to being a Cover Supervisor and things carry on as before.

Ive got some truly vile classes (including a Year 11 Citizenship class which is making me shudder with horror) but I can now call myself a Teacher without feeling like a fraud, which is always good. Ive got a bit of a wide mix of subjects (Work Skills, English, French, Maths and Citizenship) which makes me think someone is taking the piss a bit, but I�ll give it a go anyway. Im not scared. Well, OK, maybe a little bit.

Speaking of beastly teenagers, I now have another one in my house, as Treacle the Beloved turned 13!

DSC02950

Oh, there�s SO much to tell you, dear readers, and most of it is far funnier and more readable that the tripe Ive written so far, but there are trifles to make and presents to wrap and cakes to ice and good cheer to rustle up and will-to-live to look for (as I seem to have lost it) and so I guess I�d better just say

Look! Its Sid and Nancy�s grandparents!

punklouandsarah2

Merry Christmas to you, lovely Diaryland! I�ll come back soon and tell you something interesting.

Later
S
x




back - forth