just a quickie (and a bit of the band)

2012-01-27, 2:02 p.m.
Chemo week this week so Im sitting on the couch with a face like a beetroot (from the steroids) trying to occupy my mind while waiting for a promised delivery from THESE jolly people who are my latest shopping fix of choice, seeing as everything, YES EVERYTHING is �5/$7.84US/$7.37AU!! Sometimes all I see on there is crappy stuff that could so easily have come off the market but every now and then (and then, and then and then the next day!) little gems appear and Im reaching for my credit card. I got loads of stuff for Treacle and Jooj at Christmastime and seriously, for a FIVER, you cant go wrong, can you?

Not a bad week all in all � I was back at school on Monday and the kids seem to be asking me a lt less questions this week which either means that bad news travels fast or that they have lost interest in �Why Miss has got that thing on her head�. I have become tomorrows chip paper, chaps!

Best quote of the week �Cant we have you all the time Miss? You�re lovely and Miss Abbey�s (their regular teacher) a fucking bitch.� Not sure if I should have written that up on the behaviour log under �Inappropriate Language� or just basked in the compliment. Slightly ashamed to say I basked.

Last weekend I got coerced into going along to a gig with L and the band he sometime plays with. I may have mentioned Im not allowed to be �offically� in the band (Cos, like, having your chick in the band is, like, just asking for trouble, man. *tssk*) but Im graciously allowed to �guest� every now and then so I knew they�d be getting me up for a song or two. I ended up doing half a dozen numbers � Liz filmed on my camera but the combination of crappy sound quality, nervousness and enormous amounts of self-criticism means Im not posting it here. Instead you can see a bit of the band � L�s in the middle, a� strummin� and a� slappin�, T on the right on the flute (he plays tenor and soprano sax, too) and M on the left doing the rhythm and the gravely (sp? I mean �like gravel�, not �like grave�) vocal. Its only a snatch but you get the flavour:


Hoping to be well enough to drive down and see annanotbob2 on Friday. Its about an hour and a half drive but I think I could break it up a bit with an overnight at Sis�s on the way back. Got a germ of an inkling of an idea of an art project I want to work on and Im kind of hoping Anna will give me the proverbial kick up the backside I need to get started on it. I keep looking at the canvasses and then chickening out. Then I do ANOTHER bloody biro sketch and screw it up and throw it away. What Ive got in my head is very mixed-media and I think it well outstrips my actual ability level (despite a slightly ancient A Level certificate which ought to indicate the contrary!) but I want to have a go anyway. Maybe.


Any ideas what I might be able to get Mater for her birthday this weekend? Im not exactly flush with cash � although I do get paid on Tuesday. As you know, we don�t often get along very well but she HAS been brilliant since Ive been ill and I�d like the quality of the gift to reflect that a bit. Last year I got her a planted bowl of narcissi � pretty but hardly spectacular. Im at a loss, tbh. She appears to already have everything she needs. I could make something, I guess, but what? Grrrrr, bloody mothers.

Boring entry, apologies for that � combination of chemo-brain making sparkling repartee a dim and distant memory and not very much actually happening.

Better luck next time, huh?

Later
S
x




back - forth