Tedium, thy name is Calorie Controlled

2010-01-19, 8:49 p.m.
L is trying to give up smoking. I am being scathing and dismissive of his efforts supportive.

I am trying to lose a bit of weight.

We are both on Day 2 and have reached the �why am I fucking well bothering? Im doing fine just how I am� stage.

For me, the sheer Herculean effort required in not eating my own bodyweight in biscuits every single day is proving something of a chore. Im off the booze, too, as being abstemious all day and then consuming two weeks worth of calories in single malt whisky of an evening isn�t necessarily the ideal way to sustained and measurable weight loss. L is just being a big pussy. Giving up smoking is EASY � hell, if I can do it, anyone can.

I had two business meetings in Basingstoke today and was talked into going out to lunch beforehand. I thought that there would certainly be something low-cal and tedious on the menu for me to wave a desultory fork at but no, it was all �cheese topped� this and �drizzled with our own butter sauce� that. Depressing, depressing, depressing. As everyone else was tucking in, it would have been churlish and ill-mannered of me to start scraping the best bits of lunch to the side of the plate and doing that �ooh, I had a big breakfast, Im absolutely stuffed� thing. When people do that in a restaurant, it means �Im on a diet�. If people do it when they�re in your home, it means �You cant cook� or, occasionally �Your food is too weird for me. I haven�t seen Kerry Katona advertise ANY of this!�

In the end I had a burger (smallish, grilled, with salad). There were chips, too, but I didn�t even have ONE � they looked flabby and greasy anyway and nobody seemed to mind.

L is �climbing the fucking walls�, which isn�t true, of course. If he were, then that would be the most agile he has ever been in his life. I can hear him now � he�s not scaling the heights of The Palace of Many Sins but is, instead, tapping out some complicated drum rhythm on his own leg, tutting and sighing and desperately trying to fill in the two minutes of time usually taken up by �pre-dinner cigarette�. I think he�d be OK if I would let him have a joint later but �no smoking� means �no smoking� dear readers�.at least until the weekend!

I have made some smoked trout pate for supper. There is homemade bread and loads of boring green stuff salady gorgeousness. If I fancy something sweet after that, there�s a giant slab of Galaxy a yoghurt in the fridge.

Wish me luck!

s
x




back - forth