More Bloody Photos

2009-03-17, 7:52 p.m.
L is being so irritating this evening that I have sent him to the worlkies lest I should feel the need (and it is a very real and pressing need) to stab him through the heart with something not quite sharp enough for the purpose � like a wooden spoon, for example.

While he is gone, and in an effort to calm my black black heart with its �KILL him now KILL him now KILL him now� rhythm, I shall tell you all about a lovely family day out we had yesterday when we went to Canada Common which is part of the New Forest. You may google it if you please, I cant be arsed to do the link.

Anyway, Canada Common is full of big chunks of countryside and trees with weirdly off-centre trunks.

Photobucket

See how much better that looks with the thick wooden monolith in the centre of the tree:

Photobucket

There�s countryside pretty much as far as the eye can see

Photobucket

Photobucket

So we walked about in it for a bit, with L and the kids sometimes pretending to be Genesis album covers

Photobucket

After a bit there was a kind of lake

Photobucket

With some wild ponies grazing the prickly grass

Photobucket

Photobucket

And the occasional donkey thrown in for good measure�I don�t mean thrown in the lake I meant just�Oh! Stop being so bloody pedantic, you know what I meant.

Photobucket

On our way back to the car, L and the kids decided to embrace their inner pikey and �forage for kindling�.

Photobucket

Or �collect fir cones in a Lidl carrier bag� if you want total accuracy. They burn really well on our fire pit so we generally try to harvest a few when we see them. I don�t know if New Forest fir cones belong to anyone � if someone wants em back they�re in my back garden in a big plastic tub we keep speshly. Its marked �Ill Gotten Gains� so you�ll know which one it is.

Of course, there�s actually only one reason for going to Canada Common (apart from the fir cones) and that�s cos its almost practically next door apart from a bit of a detour to

CARLO�s!!!!! Yum scrum tiddly bum. Yesterday�s flavours were vanilla, peach melba, mint choc chip and strawberry. OMFG its delicious. If anyone lives relatively near and doesn�t know where it is, please email me and I�ll tell you how to get there, its SO worth it.

Anyways, I feel less murderous now Ive been talking to you for a while so Im off down the workies to tell my husband that I have forgiven him for being an annoying twat and all will be well.

Later
S
x


PS Cant get the Carlo's link to work. I might fix it later. Maybe.

PPS - (from Smash) That's because the page you are linking to is behind an interstitial that requires login details.

However you can get a brief description of the place here along with some very amusing comments from posh people about how they used to ride their ponies over to buy ice cream from there, hahah.



back - forth