little bits of nothing

2009-02-24, 10:03 p.m.
Hello little friends! And how are we all?

Jolly good.

Right then, what�s been happening? Well, bugger all actually, so this is going to be a pretty boring entry. I�ll keep it short so you don�t nod off.

My mum seems to be pretty much recovered from her mini-stroke and they are off to Bruges on Thursday morning to visit Sis. I wish I was going�not WITH them, that would be horrific. No, I mean INSTEAD of them. I could do with a couple of days mooching around cobbled streets eating waffles and drinking wheatbeer.

Funny, I never really drink beer except when I�m on holiday. There�s always bucketloads of the stuff sloshing around the Palace of Many Sins but I never have any of it.

Just had a little think about it and I really would like to go and visit my sis. Maybe the end of next month I might be able to muster up some cash. Or maybe not. *sad face*


L has taken Anne Marie out to the pub. She�s found a house to rent and things are looking up. I�m not going to say any more about her and Lee here because I think he�s been reading my diary which is a sneaky poo-ish thing to do but I�ve had a rootle through my archives and I don�t think I�ve ever said anything nasty about him�in fact, one or two things which were about him were �names changed to protect the guilty innocent� so my conscience is clear. It�s still a crappy thing to do tho, so if he�s reading this Dude, that�s crappy. Please stop.


Onwards and upwards. Jooj�s team is through to the finals of the Public Speaking Competition so I�ll have to go down to Chigley college on Saturday to hear her speech again and generally clap really loud to inspire the judges to give her extra points.

She also has a school play on Thursday. Its some kind of Alice in Wonderland variant as far as I can work out, directed by some Yr 11 kids *wince*.

Treacle doesn�t appear to be over-achieving to any great degree at the moment but the boss of the After School Club she sometimes goes to told me tonight that she is �a lovely child � never any trouble� which is just as good. Its possible that the After School Lady was just being kind as I had just given her a cheque for today�s session and paid for Friday�s which I booked but which Treac isn�t going to be able to attend as her father wants to take her out for tea. As I only have an Occasional Use Contract, I have to pay for the sessions I book whether I use them or not, which means that tonight�s hour and a half cost me �17.

Decided NOT to make pancakes for Pancake Day and we had pizza for dinner as it was as flat and round and pancakeish as I could be without making pancakes.

Then I made pancakes for dessert.

Jooj had a go at the flipping and she did a damn site better than the last dozen or so Blue Peter presenters. She wont thank me for the less-than-flattering picture but hey, she doesn�t read this, she�ll never know.

Photobucket


I have found a job I�d like to apply for but it�s about 40 miles from here which would mean an hour�s commute each way. The money�s pretty good but I�m going to need to do some serious work on my CV (r�sum�) if I want to get an interview as the one I�ve got at the moment basically says �I do typing, me.���..which I don�t. Anne Marie is Queen of All Things HR so I hope she�s going to help me with it some time this week.

I�ve been doing some kind of freaky project training this week at work and I�ve been really really trying to learn loads. Not because I want to or because I think it will further my career with Twat Inc, but just because I think I could probably take it to another employer and say �Look! I can do THIS!�.

I think in that context, the �THIS� should be something to do with the world of commerce and industry rather than swinging a bucket of water around my head on a rope without any of the water sloshing out (which is one of the other things I can do).


Here�s my favourite joke of the moment. I find telling it WITH stupid voices enhances the experience so feel free to really go for it in the re-telling. I can almost guarantee someone will punch you for this one:

Darth Vadar: Luke, I know what you are getting for Christmas.
Skywalker: No! It can�t be true, Lord Vadar. Nobody knows what I�m getting for Christmas!
Darth Vadar: I do. I know. I know what you are getting for Christmas.
Skywalker: NO! It can�t be! You could NEVER know what I�m getting for Christmas!
Darth Vadar: Ah, but Young Skywalker I DO know. I really do.
Skywalker: Nooooooo! How can it be? How CAN you know what I am getting for Christmas?
Darth Vadar: Luke. I have felt your presence.

Later
S
x




back - forth