Linky Linkerson!

2007-08-14, 9:17 p.m.
The second day of my holiday and what did I do?

Ummmm. Nothing.

It rained.

THE END.

Actually, I did manage to stay in bed til about 9.30 but then I could hear builders and stuff wandering about downstairs so I forced myself to get up. Nobody wanted the croissants I�d bought to have for breakfast so I just mooched about for a bit. The two loads of washing I did yesterday were sodden on the line so there was no point in going and getting them in. In any case, it would�ve meant traversing our new paddling pool in my slippers.

I�d thought we were building a conservatory but now that the base has filled up with rainwater I can see that its actually just a post-modernist water feature. *sigh* Maybe it�ll dry out before the chaps come in on Monday to put the roof on. If not, it�ll be an indoor pool, instead of an outdoor one. How posh are WE!

Negotiated with BF that we will go to Warwick Castle on Saturday, especially as Shagnasty (in a rare moment of pleasantness) has given me some discount vouchers that he picked up when he took the girls to Chessington last weekend. I�d kind of hoped to find a hotel in Warwick which would mean we could stay overnight and at least have a tiny tiny holiday, but it adds another couple of hundred pounds to the trip to stay anywhere half decent (ie somewhere where we don�t have to share a bedroom with the children!) so we wont be doing that.

In the end we just mooched about the house for the rest of the morning then I made some giant bruschetta for lunch and bundled the girls into the car, think we would be able to find somewhere to go for a wee while whilst on the way to Jooj�s orthodontist appointment in Portsmouth.

First choice would obviously be The Spinnaker Tower as we had to drive right past it but, as we could barely see the car in front of us on the motorway, it seemed a bit pointless to spend twenty odd quid to look at rainclouds from slightly higher up. Apparently its a good trip. With a glass floor for those not spooked by high stuff. The panoramic lift still doesnt work tho.

When we got back home, we started phoning around all our friends to see if anyone was free for meeting up later in the week (or next week) but nobody was answering. Either we�re even less popular than I thought or everyone else is on holiday this week, too and have all gone away to fabulous places where it isn�t fucking well raining and there are hotels and sun loungers and big fat books with embossed lettering and pictures of enormous breasted women in slightly ripped bodices on the cover. And other people to cook dinner.

I wish you all, good people of Diaryland, lovely holidays full of joy and sunshine and cocktails and fun. (Most of) you deserve your time off most mightily. But I am jealous as hell.

We still have no gas at The Palace of Many Sins. As we have an electric oven and lights and stuff like that, it shouldn�t really be a big deal. But we have a gas hob. And a gas water heater.

We can heat water with the immersion heater (electric) so we can still take showers and stuff, but its an expensive way to heat water so Im trying to only have it on when we actually need it. Consequently, Ive had far too many lukewarm showers than Id really like to experience over the last few days � where BF and the children have had first dibs on the water while Ive been in the kitchen.

Ah, the kitchen. I can bake, and grill and roast in my lovely electric oven. I cannot boil, or steam or saut�. I cannot cook pasta. I cannot make anything which might involve stir frying. Just about everything which eventually gets cooked in the oven (lasagne, for example), starts off on the hob as sauces and things being stirred in a pan.

Apart from the 85ft tall coffee and walnut layer cake I made yesterday, having no hob is seriously damaging my culinary artistry.

I asked BF when we might have the gas back on (�How much Fucking Longer am I going to have to survive under these conditions?� It�s the same, isn�t it?), he said that he�d phone the gas fitters three times but nobody had got back to him. Perhaps they�re on holiday too, the cunts.

In the middle of a chat about boyfriends with Jooj in the orthodontist waiting room earlier, I mentioned A Fish Called Wanda as a few years back I�d gone out with a guy who was a dead spit (looks AND behaviour) of Kevin Kline�s Otto. When we went to Matalan on the way home from Portsmouth, they had copies of the film on DVD for �4.99 so I bought one, thinking it would be fun for her to watch. I was a bit surprised to find that it had a 15 Cert. Apart from the sex (which is fairly comedic and not very sexy) can you think of any bits which aren�t really suitable for Jooj? I cant really think of anything which she wont have seen (or heard) before in other stuff she�s watched, but I don�t want to go let her watch it and then come into the room half way through and think �JEEZUZ-AITCH-CHRIST I�d forgotten about the donkey-shagging heroin addict scene!�. And I cant really be arsed to watch it all the way through AGAIN, when Ive seen it a thousand times already and it only makes me think of that guy I went out with (who, incidentally, moved to Florida and became and Equine Dentist!).

In a moment of boredom after dinner (ROASTED porkchops, garlic ROAST potatoes, MICROWAVED veg) and lots of coffee and walnut cake, I painted the girls fingernails. They now look suitably Chavtastic. Jooj has the kind of frosted blood-red usually seen on ball-breaking female Chief Execs. Or prostitutes. Treacle has vermilion. And two coats of holographic glitter.

Now, in one final link for this post, Im off to the kitchen to eat a bloody great load of
Mackies incredibly splendid icecream. You can get it in Lidl�s, my southern neighbours, and its delicious.

Later
S
X

Oh, yeh. I forgot to say. Next Monday, Im gonna go to Brighton Pavilion and maybe get a chance to meet up with annanotbob, too!
Look. I know my stupid template makes my links look like they're crossed out, but they're not, OK. Just click on the fucking links and stop feeling superior cos you know more html than me. Meh. And check out billdersbum too. There's new pictures. Edit: Ok, Okaaaay, I fixed the links that didnt work. Get off my case.



back - forth