Snot. And more snot.

2007-07-30, 9:30 p.m.
Crappety crap crap CRAP weekend!

Mostly by virtue of having a head entirely filled with snot for the whole duration. Saturday morning the builders arrived pictures here as per usual at 7.30. I tried to stay asleep but there was just no chance. I don�t think anyone can operate a digger quietly!

Kath turned up just as Id got dressed and we escaped to Lidls for a bit. Cuoldnt really concentrate on what I was buying � consequently bought pretty much nothing except four bottles of gin. Im trying to run the freezer down so that I can defrost it and one of the things taking up a whole shelf was a myriad of marge tubs, plastic bags and icecream cartons, filled with last years sloes. Ive now got four great flagons of sloe gin on the go and we�re almost into THIS years sloe season. Yay! That means the stuff Ive just made will be just about ready at the beginning of December and I can make another batch � always supposing I can be arsed to go sloe picking � in September, which will be ready around January/February time.

Better stock up on Bender Mender pronto!

Helped out with shifting the first load of bricks and blocks round to the back garden and then felt like a big pile of snotty snot and had to go back to bed. Managed to go out for about an hour in the evening but felt so rough I had to come home again. Probably Cain the Chiropractor greeting me with �Hello Stepfie! Fucking Hell, you look ROUGH!� didn�t exactly make me feel full of the joys of spring.

Also, the �Live Music� was a fat old bloke in a red shirt and studded belt, singing along to backing tracks with the reverb turned up to 11. If you clamp your hand over your mouth and sing �Jamba *marmamar* Pie, Filet *marmarmar* Son-of-a *marmamarramar* on the bayou�, you�ll get a pretty good flavour of the sound quality. If you cant sing at ALL, you�ll also have the performance quality pretty much nailed. Tried to get a good picture on my phone to send to smashthegas but its actually quite hard to do that discretely when there�s, like, ten people in the place. I did feel momentarily sorry for the bloke when he started pleading for people to �come on up and have a Daaaaance�. What? You mean the two toddlers and the Downs Syndrome teenager who dances to EVERY song aren�t good enough for you, dude? Actually, the toddlers were pretty good. And the Downs Syndrome teenager? Cant top her for stamina, she must be as fit as fuck. I�d be dead if I danced like that for as long as she does. Fair play, girl.

Sunday I stayed in bed most of the day, only getting up briefly to whine about how crap I felt and to yell (whinily!) at BF for not having a better bedside manner and not getting me stuff and not feeding me little delicacies etc etc.

Eventually, of course, he said �OK! Well, what do you WANT?�

I yelled back �I DON�T KNOW!�, and burst into tears. Helpfully. At that point, he went out. �Fuck off�, I snuffled at his disappearing rear view. When he came back, he�d bought tortellini and garlic bread from the Tesco garage and made me some supper and I dozed on the sofa under the poorly blankie with one eye on From Russia With Love.

Much MUCH too ill to go to work this morning. By the time I got up, the kids had come back from Shagnasty�s and were watching telly in the sitting room. BF was in the garden, harassing helping the bricklayer.

Nipped into town and got some heavy duty cold remedy stuff. Don�t know why I don�t take stuff like that right from the off when I get a cold. The ones with enormous amounts of caffeine and paracetamol are DA BOMB and I soon felt much better. Got the kids away from the telly and into the kitchen. Told them they could do painting but they could ONLY USE ONE COLOUR. They made a massive fuss but the end results were actually pretty much OK.

Treac was going through her blooooo period

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Whilst Jooj was a little green around the gills

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Back to work tomorrow � running a little book in my head on how many emails I�ll have waiting for me after being away for one and a half working days. Its gotta be into three figures, Im sure.

Still coughing like a consumptive Victorian child so hoping to spread a little virus happiness around the office tomorrow. I think I shall wear grey. It�ll match my face.

Later
S
x




back - forth