Random.

2007-06-14, 8:36 p.m.
Following on from the 'bizarre spam' entry, I open my mailbox today to find that Oprah Winfrey has requested that I be her MicePlace friend. As I have no fascinating personal info on my profile (not even a picture) and have never met the woman nor watched an entire episode of any show she's ever been in, frankly Im a bit surprised.

I clicked on her profile but couldnt see anywhere on it "WLTM UK based divorced female captains of industry with pleasant untroubled kids and loving partner".

Maybe it was her that sent me that spam and now she's trying to suck up cos she knows I was pissed off with her.

The brown-nose*.

In other news, Jooj and Treacle just finished watching Waynes World for the first time and have been skipping up and down the hallway singing "I got $5000, I got $5000" with their backsides sticking out a la Mr Myers. As Ive been doing exactly that for many years whenever I get to go on an unexpected recreational shopping trip, Im glad that they have finally got the joke.

Gave another singing lesson tonight. The poor woman is after learning a couple of really fucking difficult songs. Songs that I struggle with even tho my range is about twice hers and Ive been singing for years and years and years. Still, she's SO excited about the whole process and she takes in every teeny nugget of information that I give her, that I cant help but hope that she does actually get enough out of my lessons to be able to make a decent job of at least one of them at a Karaoke night some time in the future. Im not a brilliant singer, but Im a patient and enthusiastic teacher and she DOES actually seem to be improving, love her!

Work still sucks major league donkey's dangly parts........but.........my new boss *whispers* seems quite nice and not incompetent. I had made up my mind to hate her, being the 5th boss in 4 years (each one more overpaid and craptacular than the last) but in the week and a half that she's been in the job she has already expressed her astonishment and awe at the sheer volume and diversity of work that Slavey and I get through on a daily basis and expressed equal amounts of horror and sympathy at the amount of shite we have had to put up with.

She has managed to secure us a secondee (Is that a word? Whaddya call someone who's been seconded?) from another department until the end of the summer. This person will take over the routine admin from Slavey. Slavey will move up to take over some of my work and I'll work with the Newbie on the strategy and operational changes which we've been trying to implement since Methuselah was a boy. She's tough as old boots as far as I can make out but when I asked her outright what she thought of us (me and Slavey)she said she "couldnt have wished for a better team", which is good enough for me. Im cautiously optimistic.

Stacks to do this weekend including my dad's art exhibition, visit to my sister, party at annanotbob's, trip to Ikea and studiously skirting round the issue of Father's Day when in BF's earshot as he doesnt like to be reminded that he hasnt seen his kids for two years. If anyone has any tips on how I might even begin to get us back in touch with them before we get married, please share. Its not like we dont know where they are or anything, its just that the whole situation's so broken, I dont know how to start to fix it. Or even if I should try.

Off now to check MicePlace for random acts of befriending from foreign celebrities.

later
s
x

*actually, her nose IS quite brown



back - forth