It can't be thursday already!

2007-04-12, 8:28 p.m.
Holy Shite!

I cannot Belieeeeeve how quick this week is going! Ive only got one more day of my holiday left, then its the weekend, then its back to work. How crap is that!

Got quite a lot done today, despite Jooj and her mate being on a really slow start. Couldnt drag their carcasses out of bed this morning for love nor money. Jooj eventually confessed that they had been playing Sims on the Nintendo til 1.30am.

I think that last bit made me seem like I knew what they were doing. I dont. I know its a game that you play on a gadget and thats my lot. Ive tried to be interested....but Im not. Jooj appears to be a bit fucked off as someone is collecting protection money to not burn down her hotel, or something. Im pretty sure that there must be a way to stop him from doing that so we're going to spend some time at the weekend "surfing for cheats". *sigh*. cant wait.

When Jooj and her wee friend finally surfaced we beetled off to Whiteley, where there's a Claire's outlet store. If Im gonna get fleeced by two pre-teens, at least let me have 30% off. Spent an astonishing amount of money as usual but didnt mind too much as I had been listening to Billy Idol in the car whilst driving at astonishing speed down the motorway and was a bit hyped up. Dont bother with the "Perry Como of Punk" gags, Ive heard them all before. And dont diss my boy, Billy. Actually, he's not really my boy. For some years the term "Billy Idol's Mum" has been an affectionate term of abuse for me from my friends and family. I was happy to go along with it as....well....it seemed kind of fitting, in a spiky haired, leather jacketted, cake baking, PTA sort of way.

Stupidly, like Dorian Grey Gone Crazy, I imagined dear Billy as perpetually 28, maintaining that smooth chest and (laughable, really) sneer, whilst I crumbled into middle age. It was only a matter of days ago, when showing pics of him to Jooj that she asked me if he was "dead now?" and "like, is he really old then?". One short google later, and it is revealed that The Boy Billy is, in fact, 51. Eleven years older than me. It came as something of a shock to me that he is no longer 28. I feel a bit stupid. Its like saying you luuuurve Elvis in the Jailhouse Rock video, without realising he'd gone through the Vegas/catsuit/cheeseburger thing. Awwwwwww, Billy CAN'T be 51, can he? That's not fair.

Anyway, on the way back from Whitely, Jooj asked me to burn a copy of Rebel Yell for her. I felt strangely vindicated.

Picked up some nice candles (and, YES, we do actually light the bloody things, not just have them strategically placed around the house for decoration!) and a pair of school trousers for Jooj, which were half the price of the fucking EmmandEss ones we looked at yesterday. Any of youz who have normal sized kids have my full-on envy right now. Anyone who can buy clothes for an eleven year old that actually say "age 11" on the label? I bow down to you and your normalness. Jooj is 5'1" and wears a UK size 8 (US 4? whatever - she's the size of a small-ish adult). Its a nightmare getting school uniform for a kid that size. And out-of-school clothes are even worse! Felt the full force of her "awww muuu-UMMM" when I vetoed the purchase of a see-through 'Rock Bitch' t-shirt (I say "vetoed". If vetoed is the same as bellowing "NO, YOU FUCKING WELL CANNOT HAVE THAT TOP, YOU GOON" across the shop, of course). Its hard to explain to an 11 year old why she cant have a t-shirt which fits her and is only �4. Especially as I may well go back at the weekend and get it for myself.

Came back home for some lunch and had an interesting conversation on decribing people. Jooj and her friend could totally see the merits in describing someone as "differently abled" or "something-or-other challenged" as they are kind kids. Little Friend laughed quite a lot at being described as vertically challenged and liked BF's "just a bloody little half-pint" better. After much discussion, Jooj decided that our family is "differently normal".

Made sandwiches and pineapple upside down cake for lunch and then went out in the front garden and cleaned the car*.

Took Little Friend back home and drove Jooj round to her community project workplace. She was bitching all the while about having to work when she was "sooooo tired", but the offer to take the nintendo away and make sure no more friends came to stay soon perked her up. Picked up my dry-cleaning. Had a heart attack when I realised it was �76.25. Yes, that really is $150, my American cousins! Seventy six fucking quid to have my clothes smell of chemicals - and they still didnt get that little mark out of my Ronit Zhilka (sp? cant be bothered to go look on the label!) jacket. Meh.

Went to the post office and sent back BF's latest set of vanity cherished number plates. This set (4th? 5th? Bazillionth?)"weren't spaced right" apparently. As far as I could see, they still read "I am a vain twat with more money than sense". Whenever he mentions them to anyone (which he does, regularly) and they ask what they say on them, I always say that they say TO 55 ER, which they might as well do, as thats what they actually mean. Im not a big fan of personalised plates. Does it show?

Off to see Sis at the seaside tomorrow. Also giving her a bike as we seem to have a glut of them at the moment. Will have to take The TosserMobile BF's car as I cant get a bike in mine. Hope I get stopped by the po-liss. I will say, "Sorry about the plates, officer. You see, this is my boyfriend's car and, being a musician, he is a bit of a twat, with an ego the size of a planet, and this sort of thing makes him think he is cool." Then I'll sigh in a "well, what can ya do?!" kind of way and hope he lets me off.

later dudes.
s
x

*Cleaned the Car = scraped the worst of the birdshit off and mucked about with the hosepipe for a bit.



back - forth