Tiny bras and BIG shoes!

2006-10-02, 9:52 p.m.
Gah.

What is it with bras? When I got my first bra it was utilitarian. White, plain, inoffensive. Just a bra. My mum came with me to get it and when we got home, I went upstairs and put it on. I felt a bit stupid in it but at least I could play football again without scaring anyone.

Jooj has just started wearing a bra. I bought her a couple of triangles of t-shirt stuff and she wore those for a bit but now she needs a proper bra. I went shopping to get one. I went in about six different shops and they had plenty of bras in her size. They were all padded. Some were lacey, some had sequinny bits on. Some had the playboy bunny on. Or the word 'Sexy' picked out in pink diamante. There were some with silicon straps (for wearing under skimpy tops) and some that could be made strapless altogether. Some had matching thongs.

SHE IS TEN, FOR FUCKS SAKE!

Im not one to deny my daughter the chance to wear pretty, fun clothes but no ten year old needs to wear a sexy bra. Ever. If anyone (UK or elsewhere) knows where I can get a bra for my daughter that isnt going to make my toes curl (or hers, for that matter). Please let me know. Especially if I can mail-order as she finds it a bit embarrassing to go in the shop and choose.

In other news, Shagnasty took Jooj shopping for some school shoes. As any fool knows, dads should not take daughters shopping for school shoes. Its wrong. And inevitably ends in tears. My dad last took me shopping for school shoes when I was fifteen. I cried all the way home. He got me the same school shoes as L0rraine Anders0n!!!! How COULD he? He wouldnt let me have the ones that S0raya Cicc0ne had. He said they werent suitable and they wouldnt LAST. Dads know NOTHING about school shoes.

I briefed both Shagnasty AND Jooj along the lines of "You dont HAVE to get them this week. Its not worth fighting over. You'll both just get stressed out and end up having a row. We can go again next week if you cant find anything you BOTH LIKE."

Saturday morning I got a text. For ease of reading, all texts in this post will be in italics:

School shoes bought..Simple.
I responded, challenging him to also get a waterproof coat.

This evening when I got back from work I saw both. The coat? plain black. Waterproof. Job done. The shoes? Herman Munster would be so proud. My text:

Jooj coat? Perfect. Jooj Shoes? *shudder* mmm, lovely! (actually they arent too bad but how any child of mine could willingly choose such ugly footwear....*sigh*

The bastard sent me this:

I have laughed several times over your reaction to the shoes. I told her to blame me...Teehee still giggling. Nothing wrong with the coat then?

Somehow I cant help smiling that he KNEW I would hate them, and he KNEW Jooj would love them, and he is a total git. Im very very glad Im not married to him any more but he does make me laugh occasionally.

And here's a lovely picture. In it you can see that the rainbow pretty much comes down on the thatched roof of the pub. Hoorah. What makes it all the more bizarre is that I aw it from the landing when I got in from work, just as Junior Geetar God Benny was having his lesson and assaulting BFs ears with his own, very lovely, rendition of Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Awesome. Specially awesome was the amount of guffawing I was able to do when I heard junior Geetar God Benny say that it was one of the best songs Eva Cassidy had ever writ.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
later
s
x



back - forth