Jooj, the Queen of Poorliness

2006-03-07, 8:59 p.m.
Jooj is sick. She has influenza B. Im told its rife amongst the kids of her age at the mo. Generally manifests itself in a "Headache/fever/sore throat/cough/puke/crap-through-the-eye-of-a-needle" combo. She went to school yesterday because I had nobody to look after her. I am a dreadful guilt-laden mummy today.

BF did the Jooj-sitting today as he was working in the studio. She told me she was sick "quite a lot" this afternoon but she "didnt tell BF as its a bit embarrassing". I asked if she managed to get it all in the loo or did she clean it up herself and she said "No, its OK mum, we were in the pub." I resisted the urge to yell "WHAT THE FUCKING HELL WERE YOU DOING TAKING MY SICK KID TO THE PUB, YOU DOZY TWAT?" - Im told he thought she could "do with a bit of fresh air". Sheeeesh.

I hate being a working mum. It sucks like a big sucky thing. Jooj looks all eyes - big grey pools in a chalk white face. Her face is as hot as lava and her little body shiverin and a-shakin. Tried to give her as much cuddles as I could manage. Oh, for an extra couple of hours in the day.

Made a chicken korma and mushroom bhaji for supper. Jooj had two cream crackers (no butter) instead. Man! She is REAL sick. Bearing in mind what a gutty little oinker she usually is I was really saddened to see her nibbling her dry crackers whilst wee Treacle tucked into the curry nosh.

Treacle kissed her mumma with a big slurpy mixture of curry/toothpaste breath and said I was "the best mumma of the whole wide world ever". Jooj just said "Yeh, 'night mum" and closed her eyes. I tried stroking her fevered brow but she was making a "fuck OFF" sort of face so I thought Id better leave it.

away to do the packed lunches for tomorrow now, so nightie night, dear friends. more soon

s
x



back - forth