Thespy Update

2005-10-27, 10:39 p.m.
Hello everyone! Im back! And a special hello to all my new chums - I must confess I didnt really think anyone apart from moviegrrl would bother to read my stuff and Im chuffed to bits that I have other readers.

Im still getting the hang of how to use the various diaryland features so I apologise unreservedly for any breaches of etiquette I might commit while Im learning the ropes.

The play is going swimmingly well - the chaps from the local newspaper came in to see it on Monday but, to be honest, we arent in the slightest bit bothered whether they like it or not as its sold out already. No major catastrophes so far although I did stand on the hem of my dress yesterday which meant I strangled myself when I got up from the sofa, and today during a passionate clinch with the leading man, one of my suspender-belt-buttony-things pinged off and was rolling very slowly along the rug. Dont think the audience noticed (I was TRANSFIXED!!!).

BF brought Jooj and Treacle to see it, all three in their best bib and tucker just like it was a REAL theatre (arf arf). The girls naturally thought I was the best thing in it which shows that they are loyal...but that they will never make arts critics. BF was a bit more objective but Im just glad he showed up. Shagnasty would NEVER come and see me in anything. Ever. "oh, theatre's so BORRRRRING. Why bother when tellys MUCH more realistic?". I should've known. But I didnt. I once played Bathsheba in Far From the Madding Crowd - I had flu throughout the last week of rehearsals and the whole of the run and was jolly poorly (lying on the sofa in the green room shivering and sweating). The show was at the 2nd biggest theatre in Chav Ville and we had houses of around 300 every night. Shagnasty said "is it a comedy? No? Im not coming then." And that was his last word on the subject. *makes lips into a squashed up shape, rolls eyes and shakes head slowly in remembrance*

I'm also pleased to report that normal service has been resumed in the bedroom department of the Palace of Many Sins. BF is coughing a lot less (he's got some new medicine which is supposed to make his cough "more productive" - that pretty little expression seems to mean that he is now able to "produce" a cracking great Docker's Oyster at the drop of a hat, sometimes accompanied by retching and going purple in the face. Yum Yum)and, despite the BigPants I am obliged to wear on stage, he is still ready to ravish me the very second I get through the door. I predit a Sunday (kids at Shagnasty's) full of naughty badness. And garlic - cant BELIEVE how long its been since Ive eaten garlic, it just doesnt seem...well....seemly to eat garlic and other stinky foods when one has to do on-stage snogging. My co-stars have none such reservations, of course, and I have been subjected to huffs of breath straight from Satan's bottom on more than one occasion this week. In honour of my thespian colleagues I propose to have a supper on Sunday consisting of ALL the elements that have assaulted my poor nostrils this week via other people's breath. That'll be garlic then, with blue cheese, enchiladas, lamb and mint sauce crisps, KFC (GOD, that LINGERS) and I shall wash it down with a couple of cups of instant coffee with lots of milk in. Ack! Ack! Retch, Stepfie, Retch!

x

PS Send hugs to moviegrrl if you can. She could do with 'em. Been there, done that and it SUCKS.



back - forth